Kinetic ClinicianPut your license in motion.
Menu
Tips

Read licensing records by source

Open a jurisdiction to review its dated requirements and official sources. Use the compact tables to compare which states participate.

All 51 jurisdictions · Compact status table · Plan the crossing: offshore · 911 ground · IFT

AL

Alabama

spine record
reviewed 9 Aug 2026
oldest fact on this page 9 Aug 2026

Can I work a 13-week contract here on my home-state licence?

Privilege is enoughAL · spine record

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Alabama, and practises under a physician medical director.

Supporting evidence and conditions

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Alabama, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not Alabama speaking about Alabama. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a Alabama licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission · emscompact.gov · verified 4 Oct 2026 · Partly supported

Law enacted
Yes AL Code § 22-18-50 (2022)
In force
Yes since 25 May 2017
NEMSCD display
Yes shown in NEMSCD
Facts sourced
25
No published answer
5
Not yet verified
13
Sources disagreeing
0

Requirements include source links and review dates. Expand each source quotation for the supporting text. Unverified and incomplete information is labelled alongside the relevant requirement.

Before you sign

The items most likely to cost you a start date.

Adds a requirement

Alabama protocols course required before an out-of-state medic can apply

An out-of-state applicant must complete a current Alabama protocols course before applying for an Alabama EMSP licence — it is a precondition of the application, not a post-hire orientation. Every licensee must also obtain updated protocol training before providing patient care.

This is a scheduling problem rather than a scope problem: the course is delivered by a regional office or online through BREMSS, and it sits in front of the application, so it lengthens the real lead time to a start date by however long it takes to get a seat.

State EMS office · alabamapublichealth.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
You must be Nationally Registered and complete an Alabama protocols course in order to apply for an Alabama EMSP license.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

Blocks practice

Intermediate EMT is a closed level

Alabama recognises an Intermediate EMT tier but issues no new ones. An incoming medic holding an out-of-state Intermediate credential cannot be licensed at that level and must hold National Registry at an available level instead.

Affects the shrinking population of medics from states that still run an Intermediate tier. Existing Alabama Intermediates keep the level only while it stays unexpired; once it lapses the level is gone permanently.

State EMS office · alabamapublichealth.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
Alabama does not issue INITIAL Intermediate EMT licenses.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

Who licenses you

The office that issues the card, and the law it issues it under.

4 of 5 answered from a source · 1 written up as absences

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licensing authority

Who actually issues an EMS licence in Alabama?

Alabama Department of Public Health, Office of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS)

Source quotation
Alabama Department of Public Health Office of EMS 208 Legends Court Prattville, Alabama 36066 Phone: (334) 290-3088

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Licensing portal

Where do I actually submit an application in Alabama?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Contact

Who do I call or email about Alabama licensure?

emsindividuallicensure@adph.state.al.us / (334) 290-3088

The licensure requirements sheet gives an individual-licensure inbox; the OEMS contact page gives the same phone number for the office generally, plus fax (334) 206-0364.

Source quotation
You may email emsindividuallicensure@adph.state.al.us or call 334-290-3088 for assistance.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Governing law

Which statute or rule governs EMS licensure in Alabama?

Code of Alabama 1975, Title 22, Chapter 18

Partly supported

The quote establishes that Title 22 Chapter 18 governs licence denial specifically. OEMS publishes the whole chapter section by section under Code of Alabama, 1975, which is why the chapter is named here rather than a single section, but no page states 'Chapter 18 governs EMS licensure' in those words.

Source quotation
The OEMS has established a license denial policy based on Section 22-18-6(f) of the Code of Alabama.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

What the licence is

Levels, term, and what your National Registry does and does not buy you.

4 of 6 answered from a source · 2 written up as absences

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Certification levels

What levels does Alabama issue, and what does my cert become there?

  • EMT

    Maps to
    EMT
    State-only
    No
  • Advanced EMT

    Maps to
    AEMT
    State-only
    No
  • Intermediate EMT

    Maps to
    none
    State-only
    Yes
    Notes
    Closed to new applicants. Alabama will not issue this level to an incoming medic; existing holders may keep it only while it stays unexpired, and must move to a National Registry level once it lapses.
  • Paramedic

    Maps to
    Paramedic
    State-only
    No

The Intermediate EMT tier is the one that matters to a traveller and it is a dead end: 'Alabama does not issue INITIAL Intermediate EMT licenses.' An out-of-state Intermediate cannot convert into it. Alabama also licenses EMRs under a separate scheme not covered by this requirements sheet, so the list is the EMSP levels rather than every credential the state issues.

Source quotation
Licensure Requirements for EMT, Advanced EMT, Intermediate EMT, and Paramedic

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licence term

How long does a Alabama licence last before renewal?

Years
1
Expires on
fixed_date
Fixed date
03-31

Partly supported

Alabama renews annually on a calendar cycle, not on your anniversary: the window is January 1 to March 31 every year for everyone. Confidence is medium because OEMS publishes the renewal window rather than a statement of licence term, and the two OEMS pages describe the window differently — the requirements sheet says January 1 to March 31, while the Individual Licensure page refers to a renewal period of January 1 to April 30 and puts the late fee at April 1. The March 31 deadline is the one both pages support.

Source quotation
The OEMS will begin accepting renewal applications January 1st of each year.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

NREMT required to get licensed

Do I need National Registry to get licensed in Alabama?

Yes

Stated in the out-of-state section, which is the case that matters for a traveller. National Registry certification is also on the general document list for every initial applicant.

Source quotation
You must be Nationally Registered and complete an Alabama protocols course in order to apply for an Alabama EMSP license.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

NREMT required to stay licensed

Do I have to keep National Registry current to keep a Alabama licence?

No

Not the answer it looks like. Alabama runs a grandfathered track for licensees who never held National Registry, so the state card can be maintained without it — but that track is closed to anyone entering Alabama now, because entry requires National Registry. A traveller licensing in today must carry both.

Source quotation
If you have never been Nationally Registered (grandfathered), but maintain an Alabama state EMSP license, you must submit the same continuing education that is required by the National Registry to the OEMS.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

State exam

Does Alabama make me sit its own exam?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Disqualifying convictions

What criminal history bars me from licensure in Alabama?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

OEMS publishes a licence denial policy under Section 22-18-6(f) and requires an applicant declaring a conviction to submit documentation and a personal statement for each one, but no page enumerates offences that categorically bar licensure. Case-by-case review, not a published bar list.

Source: alabamapublichealth.gov

Compact privilege

The EMS Compact — formally REPLICA, the Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact. Enacted, in force, and verifiable status are separate dated facts, plus what privilege covers.

7 of 10 answered from a source · 3 written up as absences

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Conditions for privilege

What do I have to satisfy for compact privilege to apply in Alabama?

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state at an eligible EMS level.
  • Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction.
  • Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct and follow the remote state's scope of practice, protocols, and laws.

Partly supported

These are the Commission's national conditions, not a Alabama statement. Whether Alabama imposes anything further has not been established from a Alabama source — see compact.privilege.state_specific_restrictions.

Source quotation
Be at least 18 years of age. Section 4.B.1 2 Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state, as an EMT, AEMT, Paramedic, or a state-recognized level between EMT and Paramedic. Section 4.B.2 3 Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction. Section 4.B.3 4 Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct . Rules 4.0(E) and 4.6 Then, as you practice: follow the local scope of practice, protocols, and laws of the state you are working in, under Rule 4.4 of the Commission's administrative rules.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

What privilege covers

Which situations does compact privilege cover in Alabama?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

No Alabama enumeration of covered circumstances located. The Commission frames privilege as applying at all times rather than by enumerated circumstance, but that is a national statement and has not been confirmed against Alabama rule.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where privilege is not enough

When do I need full Alabama licensure instead of privilege?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

Not stated by Alabama or by the Commission for Alabama specifically. The only universal exclusion the Commission states is that privilege never applies in a state where you already hold a licence — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Can I take a contract on privilege alone

Can I work a 13-week contract in Alabama on my home-state licence?

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

Partly supported

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Alabama, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not Alabama speaking about Alabama. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a Alabama licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

Source quotation
Does it expire? There is no time limit. Your Privilege to Practice remains valid as long as you continue to meet eligibility requirements: an active, unrestricted EMS license in a participating Home State, affiliation with an EMS agency authorized in the remote state, practice under a local EMS Medical Director in compliance with the remote state's laws and rules, and adherence to the Professional Code of Conduct . Does it only apply during emergencies? No. The Compact applies at all times, not only during declared emergencies.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

If you already hold a licence here

I have an old or inactive Alabama card — can I still use compact privilege here?

A licence here forfeits privilege
Yes

The Commission states that even an inactive license makes that state a Home State, and that a Home State is not a Remote State, so Compact privilege does not apply there. This is the Commission speaking nationally; this source does not establish whether the state offers inactive status or its reactivation pathway, so both remain unknown.

Source quotation
In this scenario, although the EMS practitioner holds an inactive license from Kansas, the state is still considered a Home State, since the individual holds a license there, rather than a Remote State. The EMS Compact uniquely allows an individual to have multiple Home States, which are not defined by residency or workplace affiliations. Consequently, the Privilege to Practice is only authorized in Remote States, provided the EMS Practitioner meets the provisions outlined by the EMS Compact. As Kansas is not a Remote State for this practitioner, the Privilege to Practice does not apply here.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Extra state requirements

Does Alabama add anything on top of the compact?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Whether Alabama imposes registration, notification, a fee, or a medical-director attestation on privilege holders has not been established. The state's own administrative code has not been read for compact provisions, and silence on the state EMS office's public pages is not evidence of absence.

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Verify privilege

Where does an employer verify my privilege for Alabama?

emscompact.gov

Partly supported

Quick Verify is embedded on the Commission homepage and keyed to the 12-digit National EMS ID, which is neither your state licence number nor your NREMT number.

Source quotation
Quick Verify allows EMS clinicians, agencies, and the public to validate a clinician

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Compact law enacted

Has Alabama passed the EMS Compact into law?

Status
Yes
Enacted
2017-05-17
Citation
AL Code § 22-18-50 (2022)

The Alabama EMS office reports signing on May 17, 2017. The Legislature’s act summary supplies the separate statutory effective date shown below.

Source quotation
In Alabama, the REPLICA legislation was signed into law on May 17, 2017.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

State legislature alison.legislature.state.al.us Source checked 5 Oct 2026

Compact law in force

Is Alabama's compact law actually in effect yet?

Status
Yes
Effective
2017-05-25

Partly supported

Alabama Legislature act summary gives the effective date. The prior May 17 date is the Governor approval/enactment date. Whether the act contains a delayed implementation clause has not been established from this summary.

Source quotation
Act 2017-372, HB250 , establishes the Emergency Medical Services Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact to provide reciprocity among member states on matters relating to the discipline and conditions of practice of emergency medical services personnel. The act also amends Section 22-18-6, Code of Alabama 1975, relating to emergency care, to exempt EMS personnel with the privilege to practice in compact states from licensure by the Alabama Board of Health. EFFECTIVE DATE: May 25, 2017.

alison.legislature.state.al.us · State legislature

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Connected to NEMSCD

Can my Privilege to Practice actually be verified in Alabama?

Status
Yes

The Commission's state-specific Commissioner page identifies Alabama as fully integrated with NEMSCD. This establishes current database integration, distinct from enactment and statutory effect. The page does not publish the initial connection date, so connected_date remains null.

Source quotation
✅ Alabama is fully integrated with NEMSCD

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

Getting licensed from out of state

The route in when privilege does not cover you.

5 of 9 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Reciprocity available

Will Alabama recognise my out-of-state certification at all?

Yes

Alabama does not brand this as reciprocity or endorsement — there is one EMSP application, with an extra requirement bolted on for out-of-state applicants.

Source quotation
You must be Nationally Registered and complete an Alabama protocols course in order to apply for an Alabama EMSP license.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

What it is called

What does Alabama call its out-of-state pathway?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

There is no named pathway. OEMS publishes 'Out of State Applicant Information' as a section of the ordinary EMSP licensure requirements, not as a separate reciprocity programme, so there is no programme name to record.

Source: alabamapublichealth.gov

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Where to apply

Where do I start a reciprocity application for Alabama?

alabamapublichealth.gov

Partly supported

The Individual Licensure page is the entry point; the application itself is a dated PDF whose filename changes each revision, so the durable link is the page rather than the form. Initial applicants cannot use the online portal — the paper application is mandatory.

Source quotation
EMS Individual Licensure Application - Complete the application. This form is fillable and should be typewritten, not handwritten.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

What you must provide

What does Alabama require from an out-of-state applicant?

  • Current National Registry certification

    Detail
    Mandatory for out-of-state applicants. There is no state-exam alternative for someone entering from another state.
  • Alabama protocols course

    Detail
    Out-of-state applicants must complete a current Alabama protocols course before applying. OEMS directs applicants to a regional office or to the BREMSS online course.
  • Typed paper application

    Detail
    All initial applicants must submit a typed and signed paper application; the online portal covers renewal, reclassification, reinstatement and name change only.
  • Declaration of U.S. citizenship or lawful presence

    Detail
    One time only, with a supporting document from the application's List A. As of August 1, 2025 an Alabama driver's licence no longer satisfies this.

The quote covers the two out-of-state-specific requirements. The paper-application and citizenship-declaration items are from the same requirements sheet and the Individual Licensure page respectively, and apply to every initial applicant rather than only to incomers.

Source quotation
You must be Nationally Registered and complete an Alabama protocols course in order to apply for an Alabama EMSP license.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Application fee

What does it cost to get licensed in Alabama from out of state?

Amount
40
Per
license_term
Also payable
  • Renewal late fee, applied after April 1 of the expiration year

    Amount
    50

$40 buys one annual term, so Alabama is cheap per application and ordinary per year. Whether the fee is refundable is not published. Online transactions carry an unstated processing fee on top.

Source quotation
License Fee - $40.00

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How long it takes

How long will Alabama take to process my application?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

OEMS publishes no processing time for an individual licence application, and no statutory maximum appears on the licensure pages. The only timing information published is that walk-ins are not processed during the renewal period.

Source: alabamapublichealth.gov

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Background check

What background check does Alabama require, and how do I do it from out of state?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Temporary licence

Can I start working in Alabama before full approval?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Current NREMT required

Does my National Registry have to be current to apply in Alabama?

Yes

Unconditional for out-of-state applicants — Alabama offers no state-exam route in from another state.

Source quotation
You must be Nationally Registered and complete an Alabama protocols course in order to apply for an Alabama EMSP license.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

Keeping it

The renewal clock and what it costs in hours.

3 of 7 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Recert cycle

How often do I recert in Alabama?

1

Annual, and on a fixed calendar window rather than your own anniversary — the shortest cycle in the corpus so far. A medic used to a two- or four-year state will be caught out by a March 31 deadline that arrives every year.

Source quotation
The OEMS will begin accepting renewal applications January 1st of each year.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

CE hours required

How many CE hours does Alabama want, and in what?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

NCCP accepted

Can I use NCCP hours to recert in Alabama, or does it want its own?

Not stated clearly enough to record

Weakly supported

Alabama pins its CE requirement to whatever the National Registry requires, and NCCP is the Registry's model — but OEMS never names NCCP, and the sentence quoted is addressed to grandfathered licensees who do not hold National Registry. Whether a Registry-holding licensee's NCCP hours are accepted wholesale, and what a non-Registry licensee must file, is not stated clearly enough to record as either accepts_nccp or state_specific_only.

Source quotation
you must submit the same continuing education that is required by the National Registry to the OEMS

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

State-specific requirements

What does Alabama require at renewal that other states do not?

  • One hour per year of training on interacting with people who have sensory needs or invisible disabilities (Abram Colin Act), required for renewals from 2026 onward

In force from January 1, 2025 and waived for 2025 renewals only, so 2026 is the first year it actually bites. Registry holders classify it as individual or state content; non-Registry licensees file the certificate with OEMS. A free online course is linked from the licensure page.

Source quotation
This law requires all EMS personnel to obtain at least one (1) hour each year of training on how to interact with those who have sensory needs and/or invisible disabilities.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Refresher course

Does Alabama make me take a refresher course to recert?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

If your licence lapses

My Alabama cert expired — can I still get it back?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

OEMS links a 'Lapsed National Registry Certification Information' sheet, but that addresses regaining National Registry, not reinstating a lapsed Alabama licence. The state licence reinstatement route is offered in the online portal without published terms.

Source: alabamapublichealth.gov

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Approved CE providers

Where do I find CE that Alabama will accept?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

Military and spouse routes

Where a service record shortens the path.

0 of 4 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military pathway

Does Alabama have a faster route for military training or veterans?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How it works

What does Alabama's military pathway actually get me?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where to read it

Where does Alabama document its military pathway?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military spouses

Does Alabama extend its military pathway to spouses?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Alabama's rules are published as a separate administrative code volume that has not been read; the OEMS web pages this record is built from do not address it.

Carrying and giving controlled substances

DEA rewrote the narcotics rules for EMS in February 2026. Registration moved from the medical director to the agency itself, and the rule spells out storage, restocking and standing-order administration. These rules are federal and read the same in every state.

10 federal facts, quoted from the Federal Register · 2 of 2 Alabama facts answered from state law

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The rule and its clock

What changed, and when did it take effect?

Citation
91 FR 5216
Published
2026-02-05
Effective
2026-03-09

The DEA final rule implementing the Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act of 2017 (PPAEMA). It amends 21 CFR parts 1300, 1301, 1304 and following to create the EMS agency registration and the storage, delivery and recordkeeping rules below.

Source quotation
This rule is effective March 9, 2026.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The agency holds the registration now

Who holds the DEA registration an ambulance operates under?

Status
Yes
Category
Emergency Medical Services Agency
Scope
one registration per state covers every location the agency operates in that state

Before this rule most services ran narcotics under their medical director's practitioner registration. The registration now belongs to the agency, as its own DEA business-activity category.

Source quotation
the Act directs the Attorney General (and thus the Administrator) to allow a registered EMS agency to obtain a single registration for each State in which the EMS agency administers controlled substances, rather than requiring the agency to obtain a separate registration for each location at which it operates within that State.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Crossing state lines with the drug box

Does one DEA registration cover operating in another state?

Status
No
Detail
a separate DEA registration is required in each state the agency operates in

The fact that matters most to a traveler: compact privilege can carry your licence across a border, but it does not carry your agency's DEA registration. An agency running trucks in two states registers twice.

Source quotation
EMS agencies that wish to operate in multiple States must register with DEA in each State in which they operate.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Pushing narcotics on standing orders

Can a medic administer controlled substances without the medical director present?

Status
Yes
Conditions
authorized by state law, under a valid standing or verbal order that meets the statutory conditions

Federal law now says yes, but only where state law agrees: EMS professionals are only allowed to make such administrations if authorized by State law. Whether your state's law does is the per-state question at the end of this section.

Source quotation
the Act allows emergency medical services professionals to administer controlled substances outside the physical presence of a medical director or authorizing medical professional pursuant to a valid standing or verbal order.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Storage on the truck

How do narcotics have to be stored in the vehicle?

Locked vehicle
Yes
Container
securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed
Source quotation
EMS vehicles storing controlled substances must be locked when parked outside of an enclosed registered or designated location, with the controlled substances stored in a securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Hospital-run services

Does a hospital-based agency need its own registration?

Status
No
Detail
may keep operating under the hospital's registration

Hospital-based means owned or operated by a hospital. If you work for a hospital service, the drug box stays on the hospital's paper.

Source quotation
The CSA, as amended by the Act, expressly allows hospital-based EMS agencies to operate under the hospital's registration rather than obtaining their own separate registration.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Restocking at the hospital

Can the truck restock controlled substances from a hospital?

Status
Yes
Detail
non-hospital-based agencies may receive controlled substances from a hospital to restock after an emergency response
Source quotation
the Act allows non-hospital-based EMS agencies to receive controlled substances from a hospital for the purpose of restocking an EMS vehicle following an emergency response.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

What registration costs

What does the DEA registration cost an agency?

Amount
888
Per
three-year registration period
Source quotation
this rule reflects the current fee of $888 so that, as intended, the fee for EMS registrants is the same as that for other dispensers of controlled substances.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Government services pay nothing

Do municipal and fire-based services pay the fee?

Status
No
Detail
agencies operated by a state or local government are exempt from application fees
Source quotation
Even if the EMS agency is not operated by a government fire department, if the EMS agency itself is operated by the local government, it would also be exempt from application fees.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The switch-over window

When does an existing service have to move to the new registration?

Options
  • immediately on the effective date
  • at the expiration of the current registration
  • three to six months before the renewal date

DEA recommends agencies contact their local field office to complete the transition.

Source quotation
The three options for EMS agencies to transition are: (1) transition immediately on the effective date established by DEA; (2) transition at the expiration of their current registration; or (3) transition three to six months prior to their renewal date.

govinfo.gov ·

State administrative code alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Standing orders under state law

Does Alabama law let a medic push scheduled drugs on standing orders, the way the DEA rule assumes?

Status
Yes
Citation
Ala. Admin. Code r. 420-2-1-.12(1)
Detail
Advanced EMS licensure levels deliver treatments and medications as written in the Board-approved Alabama EMS Patient Care Protocols, with no requirement that a physician be present or contacted first.

Partly supported

Alabama runs protocol-based practice through a single Board-approved statewide protocol set rather than through per-agency medical-director standing orders, and the quoted scope rule does not name controlled substances. That controlled substances travel through the same channel is established elsewhere in the same chapter: r. 420-2-1-.23 governs services 'carrying controlled substances', and r. 420-2-1-.01(13) defines the Protocols as specifying 'medication administration' that 'shall be followed'. The PDF is filename-dated April 2020 but carries the rules as repealed and replaced effective 14 April 2022, which is the text quoted.

Source quotation
All advanced EMS licensure levels shall have the ability to provide ALS medical treatments and interventions as described in the Alabama EMS Patient Care Protocols as applicable to their level of licensure if the following criteria are met:

alabamapublichealth.gov · State administrative code

State administrative code alabamapublichealth.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

A state registration on top of DEA's

Does Alabama require its own controlled-substance registration for EMS agencies?

Status
Yes
Registration name
Controlled Substance Plan (CSP) approval
Issuer
Alabama Department of Public Health, Office of EMS
Detail
An EMS provider service may not carry controlled substances until it has filed a Controlled Substance Plan with OEMS and had it approved, at licensure and again at every renewal.

Partly supported

This is a plan approval, not a numbered state controlled-substances registration of the kind a board of pharmacy issues, and the distinction matters to anyone comparing states: Alabama gates agency possession of controlled substances on a document ADPH signs off, and the plan itself must carry original signatures from the service medical control physician, the medical direction hospital's pharmacist, and the service's Controlled Substance Oversight Coordinator. Alabama's separate practitioner-level Alabama controlled substances certificate is required of the service's medical director under r. 420-2-1-.06(1)(e), not of the agency; whether the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy also registers ambulance services was not established, because that board publishes on albop.com, which this project's source policy does not accept as primary.

Source quotation
Each emergency medical provider service carrying controlled substances shall submit a Controlled Substance Plan (CSP) to the OEMS at the time of licensure and renewal.

alabamapublichealth.gov · State administrative code

Open questions

Questions not yet settled from a primary source.

  1. Does an Alabama EMSP licence expire March 31 or April 30? The requirements sheet and the Individual Licensure page describe the renewal window differently, and the late fee attaches April 1.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks licensure.term

  2. Does Alabama accept an NCCP-format National Registry recertification wholesale for state licence renewal, or does OEMS require its own CE filing from Registry holders too?

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks recertification.nccp_accepted, recertification.ce_hours

  3. Does Alabama impose any registration, notification or medical-director attestation on a privilege holder working here? The OEMS EMS Compact page describes the compact but states no Alabama-specific condition.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks compact.privilege.state_specific_restrictions