Kinetic ClinicianPut your license in motion.
Menu
Tips

Read licensing records by source

Open a jurisdiction to review its dated requirements and official sources. Use the compact tables to compare which states participate.

All 51 jurisdictions · Compact status table · Plan the crossing: offshore · 911 ground · IFT

AR

Arkansas

spine record
reviewed 9 Aug 2026
oldest fact on this page 9 Aug 2026

Can I work a 13-week contract here on my home-state licence?

Privilege is enoughAR · spine record

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Arkansas, and practises under a physician medical director.

Supporting evidence and conditions

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Arkansas, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not Arkansas speaking about Arkansas. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a Arkansas licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission · emscompact.gov · verified 4 Oct 2026 · Partly supported

Law enacted
Yes Arkansas Act 384
In force
Yes since 5 Aug 2025
NEMSCD display
Yes shown in NEMSCD
Facts sourced
26
No published answer
3
Not yet verified
14
Sources disagreeing
0

Requirements include source links and review dates. Expand each source quotation for the supporting text. Unverified and incomplete information is labelled alongside the relevant requirement.

Before you sign

The items most likely to cost you a start date.

Adds a requirement

Reciprocity is judged by what your own state required of you

Arkansas grants reciprocity only where the other jurisdiction's licensure qualifications themselves require NREMT, CPR and — where applicable — ACLS certification. The test is applied to the issuing state's standards, not only to the individual applicant's credentials.

A medic personally holding every one of those cards can still fall outside the pathway if their home state does not require them for licensure. Since Arkansas joined the compact in March 2025, a medic from a member state can usually bypass this entirely by working on privilege instead — the reciprocity route matters most to medics from non-member states.

State EMS office · healthy.arkansas.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
The applicant shall hold a substantially similar EMSP license in another United States jurisdiction if the other state's licensure qualifications require: 1) Current ACLS certification, if applicable; 2) NREMT certification, CPR certification, and ACLS certification, if applicable;

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

Worth knowing

The rules still say no patient care without an Arkansas licence

The Arkansas EMS rules state that EMS personnel may not provide patient care without a current Arkansas EMSP licence, and contain no compact or REPLICA provisions, despite Arkansas's compact law taking effect in March 2025.

Recorded because a traveller relying on privilege in Arkansas should know the state's own rulebook does not yet mention the compact. This is not a finding that privilege fails here — compact law is state law and the Commission lists Arkansas as active and submitting data — but it is the kind of unreconciled text that produces an argument with a medical director or a compliance officer. Ask the agency, not the rulebook.

State EMS office · healthy.arkansas.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
EMSPs may not provide patient care without a current Arkansas EMSP license.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

Who licenses you

The office that issues the card, and the law it issues it under.

4 of 5 answered from a source · 1 written up as absences

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licensing authority

Who actually issues an EMS licence in Arkansas?

Arkansas Department of Health, Section of Emergency Medical Services

ADH lists licensing EMS personnel as a function of its EMS programme. The office styles itself both 'Section of EMS' and 'Office Emergency Medical Services' across its own pages.

Source quotation
Licenses all Emergency Medical Services Personnel (EMSP) in Arkansas.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Authority website

Where is Arkansas's EMS licensing office online?

healthy.arkansas.gov

Partly supported

Arkansas files EMS under a licensing-and-permits path rather than under health services, so the URL is long and unguessable. Several shorter healthy.arkansas.gov EMS paths return 403 to non-browser clients.

Source quotation
Arkansas EMS Program The Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) is committed to the health of all Arkansans.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Licensing portal

Where do I actually submit an application in Arkansas?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Contact

Who do I call or email about Arkansas licensure?

501-661-2262 (mainline); Licensure Administrator Britt Matthews 501-661-2257

Arkansas is unusually forthcoming — it names the Section Chief, the Licensure Administrator and the Regulatory Administrator with direct numbers. It directs licensure questions to the mainline first.

Source quotation
Office Emergency Medical Services Freeway Medical Tower 5800 West 10th Street, Suite 800 Little Rock, AR 72204 Phone: 501-661-2262

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Governing law

Which statute or rule governs EMS licensure in Arkansas?

Arkansas Rules for Emergency Medical Services (Arkansas State Board of Health); Ark. Code Ann. § 20-13-1106 (offences); Ark. Code Ann. § 17-1-108 (occupational licensing reciprocity)

Partly supported

The rules themselves are the operative instrument and cite these two code sections for offences and for the state's general occupational-licensing reciprocity duty. The quote supports the offences citation only.

Source quotation
Conviction or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal offense listed in Arkansas Code §20-13-1106.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

What the licence is

Levels, term, and what your National Registry does and does not buy you.

5 of 6 answered from a source · 1 written up as absences

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Certification levels

What levels does Arkansas issue, and what does my cert become there?

  • Emergency Medical Responder

    Maps to
    EMR
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    Defined in rule as a provider certified by the National Registry who is licensed in Arkansas at the EMR level.
  • Emergency Medical Technician

    Maps to
    EMT
    State-only
    No
  • Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT)

    Maps to
    AEMT
    State-only
    No
  • Paramedic

    Maps to
    Paramedic
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    Must hold and maintain a Department-approved ACLS certification for the whole licence period, not just at application.
  • Community Paramedic

    Maps to
    none
    State-only
    Yes
    Notes
    A separate Arkansas licence running concurrently with the primary paramedic licence, renewed on the same two-year clock with an extra 15 hours of community-paramedic training.
  • EMSP Instructor

    Maps to
    none
    State-only
    Yes
    Notes
    Two-year term running concurrently with the primary licence; can only be renewed after the primary licence is.

Arkansas also issues a separate Emergency Vehicle Operator certification, which is a certification rather than a licence and is not a patient-care level. The four core levels are defined in rule by reference to National Registry certification, which is why Registry is effectively structural here rather than merely a requirement.

Source quotation
The Department shall issue the following types of licenses: a. Emergency Medical Responder; b. Emergency Medical Technician; c. Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT); d. Paramedic; e. Community Paramedic; and f. EMSP Instructor.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licence term

How long does a Arkansas licence last before renewal?

Years
2
Expires on
anniversary

Partly supported

Two years is established indirectly: the rules describe the Community Paramedic and Instructor licences as two-year terms running concurrently with the primary licence, and elsewhere refer to a licensee's 'first two-year licensure period'. No sentence states the primary licence term directly, which is why confidence is medium. expiration_convention is inferred from renewal being expressed relative to the licensee's own expiration date.

Source quotation
Community Paramedic licensure is for a two-year (2) period to run concurrently with the primary paramedic licensure.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

NREMT required to get licensed

Do I need National Registry to get licensed in Arkansas?

Yes

Stated as a flat requirement in the reciprocity section. Arkansas also builds Registry into the definitions of the levels themselves — an EMT is defined as 'a provider certified by the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians who is licensed in Arkansas at the EMT level'.

Source quotation
The applicant shall hold a current NREMT certification.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

NREMT required to stay licensed

Do I have to keep National Registry current to keep a Arkansas licence?

No

Partly supported

There is a grandfathered track for paramedics who never held national certification, so the state licence can be maintained without Registry — but only by that closed population, since entry now requires Registry. Confidence is medium because the rules elsewhere require a renewed NREMT card before some renewals are issued, and the two provisions were not reconciled.

Source quotation
Paramedics who have never held national certification shall document completion of all education requirements prior to their state license expiration date to renew state paramedic license.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

State exam

Does Arkansas make me sit its own exam?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Disqualifying convictions

What criminal history bars me from licensure in Arkansas?

Offences enumerated in Ark. Code Ann. § 20-13-1106. Conviction, guilty plea or nolo contendere to a listed offence is grounds for action against a licence.

Partly supported

The value records the pointer, not the offences — § 20-13-1106 itself has not been read. Note the rules treat this as an offence list for discipline; whether the same list operates as an absolute bar at initial application is not stated.

Source quotation
Conviction or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal offense listed in Arkansas Code §20-13-1106.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

Compact privilege

The EMS Compact — formally REPLICA, the Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact. Enacted, in force, and verifiable status are separate dated facts, plus what privilege covers.

7 of 10 answered from a source · 3 written up as absences

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Conditions for privilege

What do I have to satisfy for compact privilege to apply in Arkansas?

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state at an eligible EMS level.
  • Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction.
  • Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct and follow the remote state's scope of practice, protocols, and laws.

Partly supported

These are the Commission's national conditions, not a Arkansas statement. Whether Arkansas imposes anything further has not been established from a Arkansas source — see compact.privilege.state_specific_restrictions.

Source quotation
Be at least 18 years of age. Section 4.B.1 2 Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state, as an EMT, AEMT, Paramedic, or a state-recognized level between EMT and Paramedic. Section 4.B.2 3 Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction. Section 4.B.3 4 Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct . Rules 4.0(E) and 4.6 Then, as you practice: follow the local scope of practice, protocols, and laws of the state you are working in, under Rule 4.4 of the Commission's administrative rules.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

What privilege covers

Which situations does compact privilege cover in Arkansas?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

No Arkansas enumeration of covered circumstances located. The Commission frames privilege as applying at all times rather than by enumerated circumstance, but that is a national statement and has not been confirmed against Arkansas rule.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where privilege is not enough

When do I need full Arkansas licensure instead of privilege?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

Not stated by Arkansas or by the Commission for Arkansas specifically. The only universal exclusion the Commission states is that privilege never applies in a state where you already hold a licence — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Can I take a contract on privilege alone

Can I work a 13-week contract in Arkansas on my home-state licence?

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

Partly supported

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Arkansas, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not Arkansas speaking about Arkansas. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a Arkansas licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

Source quotation
Does it expire? There is no time limit. Your Privilege to Practice remains valid as long as you continue to meet eligibility requirements: an active, unrestricted EMS license in a participating Home State, affiliation with an EMS agency authorized in the remote state, practice under a local EMS Medical Director in compliance with the remote state's laws and rules, and adherence to the Professional Code of Conduct . Does it only apply during emergencies? No. The Compact applies at all times, not only during declared emergencies.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

If you already hold a licence here

I have an old or inactive Arkansas card — can I still use compact privilege here?

A licence here forfeits privilege
Yes

The Commission states that even an inactive license makes that state a Home State, and that a Home State is not a Remote State, so Compact privilege does not apply there. This is the Commission speaking nationally; this source does not establish whether the state offers inactive status or its reactivation pathway, so both remain unknown.

Source quotation
In this scenario, although the EMS practitioner holds an inactive license from Kansas, the state is still considered a Home State, since the individual holds a license there, rather than a Remote State. The EMS Compact uniquely allows an individual to have multiple Home States, which are not defined by residency or workplace affiliations. Consequently, the Privilege to Practice is only authorized in Remote States, provided the EMS Practitioner meets the provisions outlined by the EMS Compact. As Kansas is not a Remote State for this practitioner, the Privilege to Practice does not apply here.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Extra state requirements

Does Arkansas add anything on top of the compact?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

The Arkansas EMS rules read for this record contain no compact or REPLICA provisions at all, and state flatly that 'EMSPs may not provide patient care without a current Arkansas EMSP license.' That sentence predates or ignores the March 2025 compact effective date, so it is unclear from the rules alone how Arkansas reconciles the two. This is a real gap rather than a finding of no restriction — see the open question.

Source: healthy.arkansas.gov

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Verify privilege

Where does an employer verify my privilege for Arkansas?

emscompact.gov

Partly supported

Quick Verify is embedded on the Commission homepage and keyed to the 12-digit National EMS ID, which is neither your state licence number nor your NREMT number.

Source quotation
Quick Verify allows EMS clinicians, agencies, and the public to validate a clinician

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Compact law enacted

Has Arkansas passed the EMS Compact into law?

Status
Yes
Enacted

Nothing recorded

Citation
Arkansas Act 384

Current EMS Compact Commissioner page identifies Arkansas's enacted Compact law and reports 2025-03-20 as the signing date. The obsolete Commission State Laws table source and its caveat were removed because this state-specific page directly supplies the law citation and enactment fact.

Source quotation
The EMS Compact Is State Law Arkansas Act 384: Emergency Medical Services Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact (REPLICA) Signed into law on March 20, 2025.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

State legislature arkleg.state.ar.us Source checked 5 Oct 2026

Compact law in force

Is Arkansas's compact law actually in effect yet?

Status
Yes
Effective
2025-08-05
Delayed clause
No

Partly supported

The effective date is derived from the default-date rule and full-act review. Act 384 was approved March 20, 2025, but the full official act contains no act-wide emergency clause or specified effective date; the Bureau of Legislative Research states the default date for 2025 acts without either provision is August 5, 2025. Compact Section 14(B) governs when Commission rules have force in a joining state; it does not delay the Act's general effective date.

Source quotation
Acts that do not contain an emergency clause or a specified effective date become effective on the ninety-first day following the date that the General Assembly adjourns sine die. According to the method of calculation stated in Ark. Atty. Gen. Op. 2025-032, the effective date for acts of the 95th General Assembly that do not contain an emergency clause or a specified effective date is August 5, 2025.

arkleg.state.ar.us · State legislature

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Connected to NEMSCD

Can my Privilege to Practice actually be verified in Arkansas?

Status
Yes

The Commission's state-specific Commissioner page identifies Arkansas as fully integrated with NEMSCD. This establishes current database integration, distinct from enactment and statutory effect. The page does not publish the initial connection date, so connected_date remains null.

Source quotation
✅ Arkansas is fully integrated with the NEMSCD

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

Getting licensed from out of state

The route in when privilege does not cover you.

6 of 9 answered from a source · 3 written up as absences

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Reciprocity available

Will Arkansas recognise my out-of-state certification at all?

Yes

Arkansas has a rule-defined reciprocity pathway, which is stronger than a web page describing one.

Source quotation
An applicant applying for reciprocal licensure shall meet the following requirements:

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

What it is called

What does Arkansas call its out-of-state pathway?

Reciprocity

Partly supported

Named as a rule section heading rather than as a branded programme.

Source quotation
An applicant applying for reciprocal licensure shall meet the following requirements:

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where to apply

Where do I start a reciprocity application for Arkansas?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

What you must provide

What does Arkansas require from an out-of-state applicant?

  • A substantially similar EMSP licence in another US jurisdiction

    Detail
    The other state's qualifications must require NREMT certification, CPR certification, and ACLS certification where applicable.
  • Current NREMT certification

    Detail
    Stated as a flat requirement of the reciprocity section, on top of the substantially-similar-licence test.
  • Evidence of current, active licensure in good standing

    Detail
    ADH may verify online where the issuing jurisdiction offers primary source verification, or by telephone to the other state's board.
  • Proof of licensure for EVERY state where you are or have ever been licensed as an EMSP

    Detail
    Not just the current one.
  • Clean disciplinary history

    Detail
    The licence must not be suspended, on probation or revoked anywhere, and must not have been revoked for bad faith or for a violation of law, rule or ethics.
  • State and federal criminal history background check

    Detail
    Submitted to Arkansas with the applicable fee; both components are required.
  • Department-approved CPR, and ACLS for Paramedics

    Detail
    Must follow current American Heart Association guidelines and include a hands-on skills component designed for healthcare providers — an online-only card will not do.

The 'substantially similar' test is the unusual part: Arkansas judges your licence by what YOUR state required to issue it, so a medic from a state with looser prerequisites can be refused reciprocity through no fault of their own. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-1-108 separately obliges Arkansas to consider whether the other state offers Arkansas residents a comparably unrestrictive path.

Source quotation
The applicant shall hold a substantially similar EMSP license in another United States jurisdiction if the other state's licensure qualifications require: 1) Current ACLS certification, if applicable; 2) NREMT certification, CPR certification, and ACLS certification, if applicable;

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Application fee

What does it cost to get licensed in Arkansas from out of state?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How long it takes

How long will Arkansas take to process my application?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Background check

What background check does Arkansas require, and how do I do it from out of state?

Required
Yes
State check
Yes
FBI check
Yes
From out of state
Not described in the rules.

Both state and federal components are required, and the fee is the applicant's. The rules do not name a vendor, state whether prints are required, or give a fee amount or a turnaround — all of which a traveller needs in order to plan a start date.

Source quotation
Submission of an Arkansas criminal history background check and payment of the applicable fee to include both state and federal checks.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Temporary licence

Can I start working in Arkansas before full approval?

Yes

Weakly supported

Recorded as true only because Arkansas rule refers to temporary and provisional licences existing. The quote establishes the opposite-facing fact and is the one that matters to a traveller: a provisional licence from another state cannot be used as the basis for Arkansas reciprocity. Whether Arkansas will issue a traveller a provisional licence while their file is processed, and on what terms, was not established.

Source quotation
Provisional licenses are not eligible for reciprocity.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Current NREMT required

Does my National Registry have to be current to apply in Arkansas?

Yes

Source quotation
The applicant shall hold a current NREMT certification.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

Keeping it

The renewal clock and what it costs in hours.

2 of 7 answered from a source · 5 written up as absences

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Recert cycle

How often do I recert in Arkansas?

2

Partly supported

Same indirect derivation as licensure.term — the two-year cycle is established through the ancillary licences that run concurrently with the primary one, not stated for the primary licence directly.

Source quotation
Community Paramedic licensure is for a two-year (2) period to run concurrently with the primary paramedic licensure.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

CE hours required

How many CE hours does Arkansas want, and in what?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NCCP accepted

Can I use NCCP hours to recert in Arkansas, or does it want its own?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

State-specific requirements

What does Arkansas require at renewal that other states do not?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Refresher course

Does Arkansas make me take a refresher course to recert?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

State EMS office healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

If your licence lapses

My Arkansas cert expired — can I still get it back?

Over two years
All initial licensure requirements must be completed again, as if applying for the first time.
Under two years
Additional CE hours by level are required — 12 for EMT, 18 for AEMT, 24 for Paramedic, 8 for Community Paramedic, 24 for EMSP-Instructor, 6 for EVO — on top of the ordinary renewal requirements.

Partly supported

The two-year cliff is clear and quotable. The per-level catch-up hours are read from the adjacent lapsed-licence table in the same rules section; the mapping of each figure to its level is legible in the PDF but the list is not a single quotable sentence, so quote_supports is partial and confidence is medium.

Source quotation
Lapsed More Than Two (2) Years: 1) All expired EMSPs shall complete all initial licensure requirements as outlined in Section VIII.H.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Approved CE providers

Where do I find CE that Arkansas will accept?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

Military and spouse routes

Where a service record shortens the path.

0 of 4 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military pathway

Does Arkansas have a faster route for military training or veterans?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How it works

What does Arkansas's military pathway actually get me?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where to read it

Where does Arkansas document its military pathway?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military spouses

Does Arkansas extend its military pathway to spouses?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Arkansas publishes its EMS rules as a single long PDF; only the licensure, reciprocity and renewal sections were read, and anything outside them has not been established.

Carrying and giving controlled substances

DEA rewrote the narcotics rules for EMS in February 2026. Registration moved from the medical director to the agency itself, and the rule spells out storage, restocking and standing-order administration. These rules are federal and read the same in every state.

10 federal facts, quoted from the Federal Register · 2 of 2 Arkansas facts answered from state law

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The rule and its clock

What changed, and when did it take effect?

Citation
91 FR 5216
Published
2026-02-05
Effective
2026-03-09

The DEA final rule implementing the Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act of 2017 (PPAEMA). It amends 21 CFR parts 1300, 1301, 1304 and following to create the EMS agency registration and the storage, delivery and recordkeeping rules below.

Source quotation
This rule is effective March 9, 2026.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The agency holds the registration now

Who holds the DEA registration an ambulance operates under?

Status
Yes
Category
Emergency Medical Services Agency
Scope
one registration per state covers every location the agency operates in that state

Before this rule most services ran narcotics under their medical director's practitioner registration. The registration now belongs to the agency, as its own DEA business-activity category.

Source quotation
the Act directs the Attorney General (and thus the Administrator) to allow a registered EMS agency to obtain a single registration for each State in which the EMS agency administers controlled substances, rather than requiring the agency to obtain a separate registration for each location at which it operates within that State.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Crossing state lines with the drug box

Does one DEA registration cover operating in another state?

Status
No
Detail
a separate DEA registration is required in each state the agency operates in

The fact that matters most to a traveler: compact privilege can carry your licence across a border, but it does not carry your agency's DEA registration. An agency running trucks in two states registers twice.

Source quotation
EMS agencies that wish to operate in multiple States must register with DEA in each State in which they operate.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Pushing narcotics on standing orders

Can a medic administer controlled substances without the medical director present?

Status
Yes
Conditions
authorized by state law, under a valid standing or verbal order that meets the statutory conditions

Federal law now says yes, but only where state law agrees: EMS professionals are only allowed to make such administrations if authorized by State law. Whether your state's law does is the per-state question at the end of this section.

Source quotation
the Act allows emergency medical services professionals to administer controlled substances outside the physical presence of a medical director or authorizing medical professional pursuant to a valid standing or verbal order.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Storage on the truck

How do narcotics have to be stored in the vehicle?

Locked vehicle
Yes
Container
securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed
Source quotation
EMS vehicles storing controlled substances must be locked when parked outside of an enclosed registered or designated location, with the controlled substances stored in a securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Hospital-run services

Does a hospital-based agency need its own registration?

Status
No
Detail
may keep operating under the hospital's registration

Hospital-based means owned or operated by a hospital. If you work for a hospital service, the drug box stays on the hospital's paper.

Source quotation
The CSA, as amended by the Act, expressly allows hospital-based EMS agencies to operate under the hospital's registration rather than obtaining their own separate registration.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Restocking at the hospital

Can the truck restock controlled substances from a hospital?

Status
Yes
Detail
non-hospital-based agencies may receive controlled substances from a hospital to restock after an emergency response
Source quotation
the Act allows non-hospital-based EMS agencies to receive controlled substances from a hospital for the purpose of restocking an EMS vehicle following an emergency response.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

What registration costs

What does the DEA registration cost an agency?

Amount
888
Per
three-year registration period
Source quotation
this rule reflects the current fee of $888 so that, as intended, the fee for EMS registrants is the same as that for other dispensers of controlled substances.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Government services pay nothing

Do municipal and fire-based services pay the fee?

Status
No
Detail
agencies operated by a state or local government are exempt from application fees
Source quotation
Even if the EMS agency is not operated by a government fire department, if the EMS agency itself is operated by the local government, it would also be exempt from application fees.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The switch-over window

When does an existing service have to move to the new registration?

Options
  • immediately on the effective date
  • at the expiration of the current registration
  • three to six months before the renewal date

DEA recommends agencies contact their local field office to complete the transition.

Source quotation
The three options for EMS agencies to transition are: (1) transition immediately on the effective date established by DEA; (2) transition at the expiration of their current registration; or (3) transition three to six months prior to their renewal date.

govinfo.gov ·

State administrative code healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Standing orders under state law

Does Arkansas law let a medic push scheduled drugs on standing orders, the way the DEA rule assumes?

Status
Yes
Citation
Ark. Dep't of Health, Rules for Emergency Medical Services, § I definition 45
Detail
Arkansas defines an EMS protocol as a written standing order signed by the ambulance service's medical director, and the paramedic medication list is built on narcotic analgesics and benzodiazepines with further controlled substances left to that medical director's discretion.

Partly supported

The definition establishes the standing-order mechanism without naming controlled substances; the same rulebook's paramedic minimum medication list carries 'Narcotic Analgesic' and 'Benzodiazepine' as required stock and adds, verbatim, '**Additional controlled substances and medications may be allowed at the medical director's discretion**'. One Arkansas sentence reads the other way and should not be mistaken for a prohibition: the Department's separate Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Controlled Substances say 'No standing orders or protocol for controlled substances shall be valid', but that sits inside Section VI on prescriptions and governs a non-DEA-registered nurse practitioner or physician assistant communicating a prescription order to a pharmacist. It is about prescribing and dispensing, not about field administration by EMS.

Source quotation
Protocols: Written standing orders authorized by ambulance services, approved and signed by the ambulance service medical director of the licensed ambulance service.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State administrative code

State administrative code healthy.arkansas.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

A state registration on top of DEA's

Does Arkansas require its own controlled-substance registration for EMS agencies?

Status
Yes
Registration name
Controlled substance registration in the medical director's name, per ambulance service location
Issuer
Arkansas Department of Health, Pharmacy Services and Drug Control Section
Detail
Each licensed place of business where an ambulance service maintains or distributes controlled substances requires its own registration, taken out in the name of the service's medical director and naming the service and the physical address.

This is EMS-specific and sits in Section XIII of the EMS rules themselves rather than in a generic practitioner rule, which is unusual: the registrant is the medical director but the registration attaches to the ambulance service's location, so it is an agency-level requirement carried under a physician's name. The rule does not state whether the Department treats this as satisfied by, or additional to, the DEA registration; the surrounding Section XIII obligations (double-lock storage, immediate loss reporting to Pharmacy Services and Drug Control, wastage reconciliation) are enforced by state inspectors independently.

Source quotation
A separate registration in the name of the medical director (physician) is required for each service license place of business at one (1) general physical location where controlled substances are maintained or distributed to ambulances specifically licensed to maintain drugs.

healthy.arkansas.gov · State administrative code

Open questions

Questions not yet settled from a primary source.

  1. How does Arkansas reconcile its EMS rule that no one may provide patient care without a current Arkansas EMSP licence with the compact privilege it has recognised since March 2025? Has the rulebook been amended since, or is there a separate compact rule?

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks compact.privilege.state_specific_restrictions

  2. What does an Arkansas EMSP licence application cost? The rules refer to 'the required fee' and to 'applicable fees' for initial issuance without stating an amount, and the ADH EMS page does not publish a schedule.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks reciprocity.fee

  3. What is the stated term of a primary Arkansas EMSP licence? It is derivable at two years from the concurrent ancillary licences, but no rule sentence states it for the primary licence directly.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks licensure.term, recertification.cycle_years