Kinetic ClinicianPut your license in motion.
Menu
Tips

Read licensing records by source

Open a jurisdiction to review its dated requirements and official sources. Use the compact tables to compare which states participate.

All 51 jurisdictions · Compact status table · Plan the crossing: offshore · 911 ground · IFT

IN

Indiana

spine record
reviewed 9 Aug 2026
oldest fact on this page 9 Aug 2026

Can I work a 13-week contract here on my home-state licence?

ConditionalIN · spine record

Only with the hiring agency’s cooperation

Overrides the Commission's national default for Indiana specifically.

Supporting evidence and conditions

Overrides the Commission's national default for Indiana specifically. Privilege does cover a 13-week contract here — no separate Indiana certification is needed — but it does not attach to you, it attaches to the pairing of you and a particular Indiana-certified organisation whose medical director signs off, after you have obtained a PSID and filed the PTP registration. If the agency will not sponsor the registration, the privilege is worthless in Indiana. Confidence is high because Indiana states the requirement itself, on its own site, in its own words.

State EMS office · in.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Law enacted
Yes Indiana Code § 16-31.5-1-1
In force
Yes since 1 Jul 2020
NEMSCD display
Yes shown in NEMSCD
Facts sourced
21
No published answer
6
Not yet verified
16
Sources disagreeing
0

Requirements include source links and review dates. Expand each source quotation for the supporting text. Unverified and incomplete information is labelled alongside the relevant requirement.

Before you sign

The items most likely to cost you a start date.

Blocks practice

A National Registry card does not let you work here

Indiana states at every level from EMT upward that an applicant cannot function in Indiana until Indiana certification actually posts to their Acadis record, and that a National Registry card alone does not authorise work in Indiana.

Repeated verbatim under EMT, AEMT and Paramedic, which suggests the EMS Division is tired of the question. The practical trigger is the posting event in Acadis, not the approval decision or the payment — so 'my application went through' is not the same as 'I can take a shift'. Compact privilege is the separate route around this, and it has its own registration requirement.

State EMS office · in.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
Applicants cannot function in Indiana until certified in Indiana (when certification posts to the Acadis record). Applicants cannot work in Indiana with only a national registry card.

in.gov · State EMS office

Adds a requirement

Compact privilege must be registered and medically directed before use

Working in Indiana on a Privilege to Practice from another compact state requires a dedicated registration form, an affiliating Indiana state-certified EMS organisation, that organisation's medical director's approval, and an Indiana PSID number obtained beforehand.

Three serial dependencies before a first shift: PSID, then agency affiliation and medical director approval, then the PTP registration. None of them has a published turnaround. This is the concrete answer to 'is compact privilege enough for a contract here' — it is, but only with the agency's active cooperation.

State EMS office · in.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
This application is for individuals wishing to work in Indiana under their active Privilege to Practice (PTP) from another EMS Compact State.

in.gov · State EMS office

Adds a requirement

The EMT practical exam is Indiana's own

At EMT level Indiana administers its own psychomotor examination rather than accepting the National Registry practical, while using the NREMT cognitive exam. At AEMT and Paramedic level both exams go through NREMT.

Relevant to an EMT entering by examination rather than reciprocity. Whether a reciprocity applicant who already holds Registry has to sit the Indiana practical is not stated on this page and is the obvious follow-up question.

State EMS office · in.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
The EMT psychomotor examination is an Indiana practical exam.

in.gov · State EMS office

Who licenses you

The office that issues the card, and the law it issues it under.

5 of 5 answered from a source · 0 written up as absences

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licensing authority

Who actually issues an EMS licence in Indiana?

Indiana Department of Homeland Security, EMS Division (Indiana EMS Commission)

Partly supported

Indiana is one of the states that runs EMS out of homeland security rather than health — the pages live under in.gov/dhs. The EMS Commission owns the rules (IAC Title 836) while the EMS Division administers certification; the page names the Division but not the parent department in prose.

Source quotation
the EMS Division is required to collect Social Security numbers from all current license holders and new applicants

in.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Authority website

Where is Indiana's EMS licensing office online?

in.gov

Partly supported

The /dhs/ems/ hub is the durable entry point; individual-certifications is where the content is.

Source quotation
Individual EMS Certification/Licensure

in.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licensing portal

Where do I actually submit an application in Indiana?

in.gov

Partly supported

Everything runs through Acadis WebForms behind a login, so the durable public link is the instructions page rather than the portal. Acadis is separately listed by the EMS Compact Commission as a NEMSCD-compliant vendor system.

Source quotation
Log into the Acadis Portal . Select Academy Resources (left side of screen). Select WebForms . Find the appropriate EMS application.

in.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Contact

Who do I call or email about Indiana licensure?

emscertifications@dhs.in.gov / 317-234-7322

Source quotation
Individual EMS Certification/Licensure 317-234-7322 emscertifications@dhs.in.gov

in.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Governing law

Which statute or rule governs EMS licensure in Indiana?

Indiana Administrative Code Title 836 (EMS Commission rules)

Source quotation
EMS Commission rules (IAC Title 836)

in.gov · State EMS office

What the licence is

Levels, term, and what your National Registry does and does not buy you.

1 of 6 answered from a source · 5 written up as absences

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Certification levels

What levels does Indiana issue, and what does my cert become there?

  • Emergency Medical Responder (EMR)

    Maps to
    EMR
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    No initial application for Indiana-trained EMRs — the course Report of Training serves as the application. Out-of-state EMRs use the reciprocity application.
  • Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)

    Maps to
    EMT
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    The EMT psychomotor exam is an Indiana practical exam, not the National Registry one. The cognitive exam is the NREMT EMT exam.
  • Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT)

    Maps to
    AEMT
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    Both cognitive and psychomotor exams go through NREMT.
  • Paramedic

    Maps to
    Paramedic
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    Both cognitive and psychomotor exams go through NREMT.
  • Primary Instructor

    Maps to
    none
    State-only
    Yes
    Notes
    Indiana-specific written examination administered at Ivy Tech testing centres.
  • Emergency Vehicle Operator Certification (EVOC)

    Maps to
    none
    State-only
    Yes
    Notes
    A certification with its own application and renewal/CE report, not a patient-care level.

Partly supported

The level list is reconstructed from the application index on this page, where each level has its own initial, renewal and reciprocity forms. The quote is the title of Indiana's own quick-reference document, which was not opened — so confidence is medium and this claim should be replaced with one sourced from that reference. The EMT psychomotor split is worth noting: Indiana runs its own practical exam at EMT level while deferring to NREMT above it.

Source quotation
Levels of EMS personnel certification - quick reference

in.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Licence term

How long does a Indiana licence last before renewal?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NREMT required to get licensed

Do I need National Registry to get licensed in Indiana?

Conflicting or incomplete source information

Evidence details

Indiana's testing section routes AEMT and Paramedic candidates entirely through NREMT and uses the NREMT cognitive exam at EMT level, which strongly implies Registry is required — but the page never states it as a requirement, and it separately insists a National Registry card alone does not authorise practice here. Whether an out-of-state applicant must hold current Registry to be certified by reciprocity, as opposed to having passed the Registry exams at some point, is not established by this page.

Source: in.gov

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NREMT required to stay licensed

Do I have to keep National Registry current to keep a Indiana licence?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

The page lists a renewal/continuing education report for every level but does not state whether current National Registry is required to renew, or whether Indiana CE alone suffices. The continuing education guidelines it links were not read.

Source: in.gov

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

State exam

Does Indiana make me sit its own exam?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Disqualifying convictions

What criminal history bars me from licensure in Indiana?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

Compact privilege

The EMS Compact — formally REPLICA, the Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact. Enacted, in force, and verifiable status are separate dated facts, plus what privilege covers.

8 of 10 answered from a source · 2 written up as absences

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Conditions for privilege

What do I have to satisfy for compact privilege to apply in Indiana?

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state at an eligible EMS level.
  • Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction.
  • Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct and follow the remote state's scope of practice, protocols, and laws.

Partly supported

These are the Commission's national conditions, not a Indiana statement. Whether Indiana imposes anything further has not been established from a Indiana source — see compact.privilege.state_specific_restrictions.

Source quotation
Be at least 18 years of age. Section 4.B.1 2 Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state, as an EMT, AEMT, Paramedic, or a state-recognized level between EMT and Paramedic. Section 4.B.2 3 Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction. Section 4.B.3 4 Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct . Rules 4.0(E) and 4.6 Then, as you practice: follow the local scope of practice, protocols, and laws of the state you are working in, under Rule 4.4 of the Commission's administrative rules.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

What privilege covers

Which situations does compact privilege cover in Indiana?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

No Indiana enumeration of covered circumstances located. The Commission frames privilege as applying at all times rather than by enumerated circumstance, but that is a national statement and has not been confirmed against Indiana rule.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where privilege is not enough

When do I need full Indiana licensure instead of privilege?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

Not stated by Indiana or by the Commission for Indiana specifically. The only universal exclusion the Commission states is that privilege never applies in a state where you already hold a licence — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Can I take a contract on privilege alone

Can I work a 13-week contract in Indiana on my home-state licence?

Only with the hiring agency’s cooperation

Overrides the Commission's national default for Indiana specifically. Privilege does cover a 13-week contract here — no separate Indiana certification is needed — but it does not attach to you, it attaches to the pairing of you and a particular Indiana-certified organisation whose medical director signs off, after you have obtained a PSID and filed the PTP registration. If the agency will not sponsor the registration, the privilege is worthless in Indiana. Confidence is high because Indiana states the requirement itself, on its own site, in its own words.

Source quotation
Applicants wishing to use their PTP must have an affiliating Indiana state certified EMS organization, and that organization's medical director's approval to receive authorization to practice in Indiana.

in.gov · State EMS office

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

If you already hold a licence here

I have an old or inactive Indiana card — can I still use compact privilege here?

A licence here forfeits privilege
Yes

The Commission states that even an inactive license makes that state a Home State, and that a Home State is not a Remote State, so Compact privilege does not apply there. This is the Commission speaking nationally; this source does not establish whether the state offers inactive status or its reactivation pathway, so both remain unknown.

Source quotation
In this scenario, although the EMS practitioner holds an inactive license from Kansas, the state is still considered a Home State, since the individual holds a license there, rather than a Remote State. The EMS Compact uniquely allows an individual to have multiple Home States, which are not defined by residency or workplace affiliations. Consequently, the Privilege to Practice is only authorized in Remote States, provided the EMS Practitioner meets the provisions outlined by the EMS Compact. As Kansas is not a Remote State for this practitioner, the Privilege to Practice does not apply here.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Extra state requirements

Does Indiana add anything on top of the compact?

  • You must register with the EMS Division on the 'EMS Provider Using EMS Compact Privilege to Practice (PTP)' form before working in Indiana on privilege — privilege is not self-executing here
  • You must have an affiliating Indiana state-certified EMS organisation
  • That organisation's medical director must approve you, and the approval is what confers authorisation to practise in Indiana
  • You must first obtain an Indiana Public Safety Identification (PSID) number, before the PTP registration can be submitted

This is the most consequential state-specific compact finding in the corpus so far, and it is exactly the kind of thing the Commission's national material does not mention. Indiana treats privilege as something you register for and are authorised into, with a named form, a prerequisite state ID number, and a named approver. A medic who arrives assuming privilege attaches automatically on landing will be working unauthorised.

Source quotation
Applicants wishing to use their PTP must have an affiliating Indiana state certified EMS organization, and that organization's medical director's approval to receive authorization to practice in Indiana.

in.gov · State EMS office

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Verify privilege

Where does an employer verify my privilege for Indiana?

emscompact.gov

Partly supported

Quick Verify is embedded on the Commission homepage and keyed to the 12-digit National EMS ID, which is neither your state licence number nor your NREMT number.

Source quotation
Quick Verify allows EMS clinicians, agencies, and the public to validate a clinician

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Compact law enacted

Has Indiana passed the EMS Compact into law?

Status
Yes
Enacted

Nothing recorded

Citation
Indiana Code § 16-31.5-1-1

Current EMS Compact Commissioner page identifies Indiana's enacted Compact law and reports 2020-03-11 as the signing date. The obsolete Commission State Laws table source and its caveat were removed because this state-specific page directly supplies the law citation and enactment fact.

Source quotation
In Indiana, the REPLICA legislation was signed into law on March 11, 2020.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

State agency in.gov Source checked 5 Oct 2026

Compact law in force

Is Indiana's compact law actually in effect yet?

Status
Yes
Effective
2020-07-01

Partly supported

Indiana DHS legislative update explicitly separates Public Law status on March 11, 2020 from the July 1, 2020 effective date. The update does not establish whether the act contains a delayed implementation clause.

Source quotation
Status: Public Law 3 as of March 11, 2020. Takes effect July 1, 2020.

in.gov · State agency

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Connected to NEMSCD

Can my Privilege to Practice actually be verified in Indiana?

Status
Yes

The Commission's state-specific Commissioner page identifies Indiana as fully integrated with NEMSCD. This establishes current database integration, distinct from enactment and statutory effect. The page does not publish the initial connection date, so connected_date remains null.

Source quotation
✅ Indiana is fully integrated with NEMSCD.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

Getting licensed from out of state

The route in when privilege does not cover you.

4 of 9 answered from a source · 5 written up as absences

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Reciprocity available

Will Indiana recognise my out-of-state certification at all?

Yes

Indiana publishes a distinct Reciprocity Application and a Verification of EMS Status for Reciprocity form at every level from EMR to Paramedic.

Source quotation
Individuals seeking certification/licensure in Indiana (initial and reciprocity) need to complete an appropriate application.

in.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

What it is called

What does Indiana call its out-of-state pathway?

Reciprocity Application

Partly supported

Named by the forms rather than as a branded programme. The paired Verification of EMS Status form is the part your current state has to complete.

Source quotation
Reciprocity Application Verification of EMS Status for Reciprocity

in.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Where to apply

Where do I start a reciprocity application for Indiana?

in.gov

Applications are filed as Acadis WebForms behind a login; this page is the index that names which form to use per level.

Source quotation
Individuals seeking certification/licensure in Indiana (initial and reciprocity) need to complete an appropriate application.

in.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

What you must provide

What does Indiana require from an out-of-state applicant?

  • Reciprocity Application for your level, filed as an Acadis WebForm

    Detail
    Separate forms exist for EMR, EMT, AEMT and Paramedic.
  • Verification of EMS Status for Reciprocity

    Detail
    A companion form your current licensing state completes.
  • Indiana Public Safety Identification (PSID) number

    Detail
    Indiana's own identifier, applied for separately from certification.
  • Social Security number recorded in Acadis

    Detail
    Now collected from all licensees and applicants for identity verification in the National EMS Coordinated Database; only the last four digits are displayed.

Partly supported

Reconstructed from the application index and the Acadis and PSID instructions on the same page. The forms themselves were not opened, so the substantive requirements inside them — exams, CE, background check, fees — are not captured here. Confidence is medium accordingly.

Source quotation
Reciprocity Application Verification of EMS Status for Reciprocity

in.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Application fee

What does it cost to get licensed in Indiana from out of state?

Conflicting or incomplete source information

Evidence details

The only fee this page states is a $50 reapplication fee attached to a late continuing-education renewal filed within 120 days of expiry. Whether an initial or reciprocity application carries a fee, and how much, is not published here. Payment is by cheque, money order or certain credit cards; cash is refused.

Source: in.gov

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How long it takes

How long will Indiana take to process my application?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

No processing time is published. The page says only that the EMS Division will process a submitted WebForm and that the applicant should check email and their Acadis account for updates — which is a warning that the wait is open-ended, not an estimate.

Source: in.gov

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Background check

What background check does Indiana require, and how do I do it from out of state?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Temporary licence

Can I start working in Indiana before full approval?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Current NREMT required

Does my National Registry have to be current to apply in Indiana?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

Keeping it

The renewal clock and what it costs in hours.

1 of 7 answered from a source · 6 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Recert cycle

How often do I recert in Indiana?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

CE hours required

How many CE hours does Indiana want, and in what?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NCCP accepted

Can I use NCCP hours to recert in Indiana, or does it want its own?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

State-specific requirements

What does Indiana require at renewal that other states do not?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Refresher course

Does Indiana make me take a refresher course to recert?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

If your licence lapses

My Indiana cert expired — can I still get it back?

Within 120 days
Submit the continuing education/renewal form plus a $50 reapplication fee, provided the in-service CE was completed before expiry.
Over 120 days
File a full certification/licensure application through Acadis WebForms, as an initial or reciprocity applicant would.

The 120-day cliff is sharp and the CE timing matters as much as the deadline: the cheap route requires that the CE was finished BEFORE the certification expired, not merely before you file. Miss either condition and you are back at the full application.

Source quotation
If you completed your in-service prior to expiration, and it has been less than 120 days since expiration, you can submit your continuing education/renewal form and $50 reapplication fee.

in.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Approved CE providers

Where do I find CE that Indiana will accept?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

Military and spouse routes

Where a service record shortens the path.

0 of 4 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military pathway

Does Indiana have a faster route for military training or veterans?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How it works

What does Indiana's military pathway actually get me?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where to read it

Where does Indiana document its military pathway?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military spouses

Does Indiana extend its military pathway to spouses?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted in the spine pass. Indiana publishes its substantive requirements in IAC Title 836 and in per-level application PDFs, neither of which was read; the Individual EMS Certification page this record is built from is an index rather than a statement of the rules.

Carrying and giving controlled substances

DEA rewrote the narcotics rules for EMS in February 2026. Registration moved from the medical director to the agency itself, and the rule spells out storage, restocking and standing-order administration. These rules are federal and read the same in every state.

10 federal facts, quoted from the Federal Register · 2 of 2 Indiana facts answered from state law

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The rule and its clock

What changed, and when did it take effect?

Citation
91 FR 5216
Published
2026-02-05
Effective
2026-03-09

The DEA final rule implementing the Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act of 2017 (PPAEMA). It amends 21 CFR parts 1300, 1301, 1304 and following to create the EMS agency registration and the storage, delivery and recordkeeping rules below.

Source quotation
This rule is effective March 9, 2026.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The agency holds the registration now

Who holds the DEA registration an ambulance operates under?

Status
Yes
Category
Emergency Medical Services Agency
Scope
one registration per state covers every location the agency operates in that state

Before this rule most services ran narcotics under their medical director's practitioner registration. The registration now belongs to the agency, as its own DEA business-activity category.

Source quotation
the Act directs the Attorney General (and thus the Administrator) to allow a registered EMS agency to obtain a single registration for each State in which the EMS agency administers controlled substances, rather than requiring the agency to obtain a separate registration for each location at which it operates within that State.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Crossing state lines with the drug box

Does one DEA registration cover operating in another state?

Status
No
Detail
a separate DEA registration is required in each state the agency operates in

The fact that matters most to a traveler: compact privilege can carry your licence across a border, but it does not carry your agency's DEA registration. An agency running trucks in two states registers twice.

Source quotation
EMS agencies that wish to operate in multiple States must register with DEA in each State in which they operate.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Pushing narcotics on standing orders

Can a medic administer controlled substances without the medical director present?

Status
Yes
Conditions
authorized by state law, under a valid standing or verbal order that meets the statutory conditions

Federal law now says yes, but only where state law agrees: EMS professionals are only allowed to make such administrations if authorized by State law. Whether your state's law does is the per-state question at the end of this section.

Source quotation
the Act allows emergency medical services professionals to administer controlled substances outside the physical presence of a medical director or authorizing medical professional pursuant to a valid standing or verbal order.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Storage on the truck

How do narcotics have to be stored in the vehicle?

Locked vehicle
Yes
Container
securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed
Source quotation
EMS vehicles storing controlled substances must be locked when parked outside of an enclosed registered or designated location, with the controlled substances stored in a securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Hospital-run services

Does a hospital-based agency need its own registration?

Status
No
Detail
may keep operating under the hospital's registration

Hospital-based means owned or operated by a hospital. If you work for a hospital service, the drug box stays on the hospital's paper.

Source quotation
The CSA, as amended by the Act, expressly allows hospital-based EMS agencies to operate under the hospital's registration rather than obtaining their own separate registration.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Restocking at the hospital

Can the truck restock controlled substances from a hospital?

Status
Yes
Detail
non-hospital-based agencies may receive controlled substances from a hospital to restock after an emergency response
Source quotation
the Act allows non-hospital-based EMS agencies to receive controlled substances from a hospital for the purpose of restocking an EMS vehicle following an emergency response.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

What registration costs

What does the DEA registration cost an agency?

Amount
888
Per
three-year registration period
Source quotation
this rule reflects the current fee of $888 so that, as intended, the fee for EMS registrants is the same as that for other dispensers of controlled substances.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Government services pay nothing

Do municipal and fire-based services pay the fee?

Status
No
Detail
agencies operated by a state or local government are exempt from application fees
Source quotation
Even if the EMS agency is not operated by a government fire department, if the EMS agency itself is operated by the local government, it would also be exempt from application fees.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The switch-over window

When does an existing service have to move to the new registration?

Options
  • immediately on the effective date
  • at the expiration of the current registration
  • three to six months before the renewal date

DEA recommends agencies contact their local field office to complete the transition.

Source quotation
The three options for EMS agencies to transition are: (1) transition immediately on the effective date established by DEA; (2) transition at the expiration of their current registration; or (3) transition three to six months prior to their renewal date.

govinfo.gov ·

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Standing orders under state law

Does Indiana law let a medic push scheduled drugs on standing orders, the way the DEA rule assumes?

Status
Yes
Citation
IDHS/EMS Commission State Form 56080, §J (Medical Control) and §K (Medications), issued under IC 16-31
Detail
Indiana certifies an ALS provider organization only on proof of protocols and a drug list approved, signed and dated by its medical director, which is the mechanism under which its crews carry and give scheduled drugs.

Partly supported

The operative rule text is 836 IAC (EMS Commission) and IC 16-31, and Indiana publishes both only through script-only viewers (iar.iga.in.gov, iga.in.gov) that our fetcher cannot read; iac.iga.in.gov's article PDFs return HTML. The quote is from the state's own certification application, which is what Indiana actually enforces, but it establishes protocol-based medical control generally rather than naming controlled substances or the absence of the physician. IDHS's own PPAEMA guide adds 'Your EMS Medical Director will still be integral to the protocols and guidelines for the use/administration of these substances.' Confidence stays medium until 836 IAC can be quoted from a fetchable primary host.

Source quotation
Attach a list of medications to be carried on board your emergency response vehicles, that have been approved, signed, and dated by the medical director.

in.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office in.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

A state registration on top of DEA's

Does Indiana require its own controlled-substance registration for EMS agencies?

Status
Yes
Registration name
Controlled Substance Registration (CSR)
Issuer
Indiana Board of Pharmacy (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency)
Detail
Since 25 August 2021 Indiana requires every EMS provider organization not owned or operated by a hospital to hold a state CSR, which must be granted before the agency can apply for its DEA registration.

The Board of Pharmacy rule itself is 856 IAC 2-3-4.5, which Indiana publishes only on the script-only IARP viewer; this implementation guide is the state EMS office describing the rule it operates under, and it is explicit that only hospital-owned EMS organizations may ride on the hospital's existing CSR.

Source quotation
This will require all other EMS provider organizations to obtain a State CSR moving forward.

in.gov · State EMS office

Open questions

Questions not yet settled from a primary source.

  1. What does Indiana's Reciprocity Application actually require — current NREMT, an Indiana practical exam, a background check, a fee? The public page names the forms but states none of their contents.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks reciprocity.requirements, reciprocity.fee, licensure.nremt_required_initial, reciprocity.background_check

  2. How long do the three prerequisites for using compact privilege in Indiana take — PSID issuance, medical director approval, and PTP registration processing? No step has a published turnaround, and together they decide whether privilege is actually faster than certification.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks compact.privilege.state_specific_restrictions

  3. What is the Indiana certification term and recertification cycle, and what CE is required at each level? IAC Title 836 and the linked continuing education guidelines were not read.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks licensure.term, recertification.cycle_years, recertification.ce_hours, recertification.nccp_accepted