Kinetic ClinicianPut your license in motion.
Menu
Tips

Read licensing records by source

Open a jurisdiction to review its dated requirements and official sources. Use the compact tables to compare which states participate.

All 51 jurisdictions · Compact status table · Plan the crossing: offshore · 911 ground · IFT

KS

Kansas

spine record
reviewed 9 Aug 2026
oldest fact on this page 9 Aug 2026

Can I work a 13-week contract here on my home-state licence?

Privilege is enoughKS · spine record

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Kansas, and practises under a physician medical director.

Supporting evidence and conditions

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Kansas, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not Kansas speaking about Kansas. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a Kansas licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission · emscompact.gov · verified 4 Oct 2026 · Partly supported

Law enacted
Yes Kansas Statutes § 65-6158
In force
Yes since 1 Jul 2016
NEMSCD display
Yes shown in NEMSCD
Facts sourced
20
No published answer
2
Not yet verified
21
Sources disagreeing
0

Requirements include source links and review dates. Expand each source quotation for the supporting text. Unverified and incomplete information is labelled alongside the relevant requirement.

Before you sign

The items most likely to cost you a start date.

Adds a requirement

Fingerprints and a $50 waiver come before certification, in that order

Every new Kansas applicant must complete a criminal history records check before certification: a waiver application and $50 fee in the licensing portal, then fingerprints at an authorised location, and only then the Recognition of Non-Kansas Credentials application.

Three serial steps, none with a published turnaround, before the recognition application even starts. Kansas is a compact member that is in force and submitting data, so a medic from another Member State can skip all of this and work on privilege — the recognition route only matters if you need the Kansas card itself.

State EMS office · ksbems.org · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
New applicants for EMS credentials in the State of Kansas will be required to undergo criminal history records checks prior to gaining certification.

ksbems.org · State EMS office

Who licenses you

The office that issues the card, and the law it issues it under.

3 of 5 answered from a source · 2 written up as absences

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licensing authority

Who actually issues an EMS licence in Kansas?

Kansas Board of Emergency Medical Services

An independent board rather than a division of a health or public-safety department, which is why it publishes on ksbems.org rather than a .gov host. It is still the body that makes the rule, so it counts as the state EMS office.

Source quotation
Kansas Board of Emergency Medical Services

ksbems.org · State EMS office

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Authority website

Where is Kansas's EMS licensing office online?

ksbems.org

Partly supported

The site is a WordPress install addressing pages by query-string ID, so deep links look unstable even though they resolve today.

Source quotation
Kansas Board of Emergency Medical Services · Landon State Office Building, 900 SW Jackson Street, Suite 1031 · Topeka, KS 66612-1228

ksbems.org · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Licensing portal

Where do I actually submit an application in Kansas?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

National Registry of EMTs nremt.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Contact

Who do I call or email about Kansas licensure?

(785) 296-7296

Partly supported

From the National Registry's State EMS Offices directory, which carries the Registry's own warning: 'Information provided on this page is for convenience. Always verify information directly with the State EMS Office.'

Source quotation
Phone (785) 296-7296

nremt.org · National Registry of EMTs

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Governing law

Which statute or rule governs EMS licensure in Kansas?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

What the licence is

Levels, term, and what your National Registry does and does not buy you.

1 of 6 answered from a source · 5 written up as absences

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Certification levels

What levels does Kansas issue, and what does my cert become there?

  • EMR

    Maps to
    EMR
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    16 CE hours to renew; $20 renewal fee.
  • EMT

    Maps to
    EMT
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    28 CE hours to renew; $30 renewal fee.
  • AEMT

    Maps to
    AEMT
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    44 CE hours to renew; $30 renewal fee.
  • Paramedic

    Maps to
    Paramedic
    State-only
    No
    Notes
    60 CE hours to renew; $50 renewal fee.
  • Instructor Coordinator

    Maps to
    none
    State-only
    Yes
    Notes
    Renews through the same portal.

Partly supported

Reconstructed from the CE and fee tables rather than from a list of levels — Kansas does not publish one on this page. Confidence is medium accordingly, and the list may be incomplete.

Source quotation
Q: How many hours do I need to Renew? A: EMR: 16, EMT: 28, AEMT: 44, PARAMEDIC: 60

ksbems.org · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Licence term

How long does a Kansas licence last before renewal?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NREMT required to get licensed

Do I need National Registry to get licensed in Kansas?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NREMT required to stay licensed

Do I have to keep National Registry current to keep a Kansas licence?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

State exam

Does Kansas make me sit its own exam?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Disqualifying convictions

What criminal history bars me from licensure in Kansas?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Compact privilege

The EMS Compact — formally REPLICA, the Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact. Enacted, in force, and verifiable status are separate dated facts, plus what privilege covers.

7 of 10 answered from a source · 3 written up as absences

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Conditions for privilege

What do I have to satisfy for compact privilege to apply in Kansas?

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state at an eligible EMS level.
  • Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction.
  • Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct and follow the remote state's scope of practice, protocols, and laws.

Partly supported

These are the Commission's national conditions, not a Kansas statement. Whether Kansas imposes anything further has not been established from a Kansas source — see compact.privilege.state_specific_restrictions.

Source quotation
Be at least 18 years of age. Section 4.B.1 2 Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state, as an EMT, AEMT, Paramedic, or a state-recognized level between EMT and Paramedic. Section 4.B.2 3 Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction. Section 4.B.3 4 Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct . Rules 4.0(E) and 4.6 Then, as you practice: follow the local scope of practice, protocols, and laws of the state you are working in, under Rule 4.4 of the Commission's administrative rules.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

What privilege covers

Which situations does compact privilege cover in Kansas?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

No Kansas enumeration of covered circumstances located. The Commission frames privilege as applying at all times rather than by enumerated circumstance, but that is a national statement and has not been confirmed against Kansas rule.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where privilege is not enough

When do I need full Kansas licensure instead of privilege?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

Not stated by Kansas or by the Commission for Kansas specifically. The only universal exclusion the Commission states is that privilege never applies in a state where you already hold a licence — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Can I take a contract on privilege alone

Can I work a 13-week contract in Kansas on my home-state licence?

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

Partly supported

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Kansas, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not Kansas speaking about Kansas. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a Kansas licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

Source quotation
Does it expire? There is no time limit. Your Privilege to Practice remains valid as long as you continue to meet eligibility requirements: an active, unrestricted EMS license in a participating Home State, affiliation with an EMS agency authorized in the remote state, practice under a local EMS Medical Director in compliance with the remote state's laws and rules, and adherence to the Professional Code of Conduct . Does it only apply during emergencies? No. The Compact applies at all times, not only during declared emergencies.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

If you already hold a licence here

I have an old or inactive Kansas card — can I still use compact privilege here?

A licence here forfeits privilege
Yes

The Commission states that even an inactive license makes that state a Home State, and that a Home State is not a Remote State, so Compact privilege does not apply there. This is the Commission speaking nationally; this source does not establish whether the state offers inactive status or its reactivation pathway, so both remain unknown.

Source quotation
In this scenario, although the EMS practitioner holds an inactive license from Kansas, the state is still considered a Home State, since the individual holds a license there, rather than a Remote State. The EMS Compact uniquely allows an individual to have multiple Home States, which are not defined by residency or workplace affiliations. Consequently, the Privilege to Practice is only authorized in Remote States, provided the EMS Practitioner meets the provisions outlined by the EMS Compact. As Kansas is not a Remote State for this practitioner, the Privilege to Practice does not apply here.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Extra state requirements

Does Kansas add anything on top of the compact?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Whether Kansas imposes registration, notification, a fee, or a medical-director attestation on privilege holders has not been established. The state's own administrative code has not been read for compact provisions, and silence on the state EMS office's public pages is not evidence of absence.

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Verify privilege

Where does an employer verify my privilege for Kansas?

emscompact.gov

Partly supported

Quick Verify is embedded on the Commission homepage and keyed to the 12-digit National EMS ID, which is neither your state licence number nor your NREMT number.

Source quotation
Quick Verify allows EMS clinicians, agencies, and the public to validate a clinician

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Compact law enacted

Has Kansas passed the EMS Compact into law?

Status
Yes
Enacted

Nothing recorded

Citation
Kansas Statutes § 65-6158

Current EMS Compact Commissioner page identifies Kansas's enacted Compact law and reports 2016-03-31 as the signing date. The obsolete Commission State Laws table source and its caveat were removed because this state-specific page directly supplies the law citation and enactment fact.

Source quotation
In Kansas, the REPLICA legislation was signed into law on March 31, 2016, making Kansas the sixth state to enact the EMS Compact.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

State legislature kslegislature.gov Source checked 5 Oct 2026

Compact law in force

Is Kansas's compact law actually in effect yet?

Status
Yes
Effective
2016-07-01

Partly supported

Kansas Legislature SB 225 page identifies July 1, 2016 as the law-effective date; March 31, 2016 is the Governor approval date. The bill page does not establish whether the act contains a delayed implementation clause.

Source quotation
Enrolled - Law effective July 01, 2016

kslegislature.gov · State legislature

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Connected to NEMSCD

Can my Privilege to Practice actually be verified in Kansas?

Status
Yes

The Commission's state-specific Commissioner page identifies Kansas as fully integrated with NEMSCD. This establishes current database integration, distinct from enactment and statutory effect. The page does not publish the initial connection date, so connected_date remains null.

Source quotation
✅ Kansas is fully integrated with NEMSCD

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

Getting licensed from out of state

The route in when privilege does not cover you.

5 of 9 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Reciprocity available

Will Kansas recognise my out-of-state certification at all?

Yes

Kansas names the pathway plainly and puts it in its certification FAQ under the exact question a traveller would ask.

Source quotation
After submission of the required waiver, complete the "Recognition of Non-Kansas Credentials" application.

ksbems.org · State EMS office

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

What it is called

What does Kansas call its out-of-state pathway?

Recognition of Non-Kansas Credentials

Worth knowing by name — searching the Kansas portal for 'reciprocity' will not find it.

Source quotation
After submission of the required waiver, complete the "Recognition of Non-Kansas Credentials" application.

ksbems.org · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where to apply

Where do I start a reciprocity application for Kansas?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

What you must provide

What does Kansas require from an out-of-state applicant?

  • Criminal history records check, completed BEFORE certification

    Detail
    A waiver plus fingerprints taken at an authorised location. Filed as a 'Criminal History Records Check Waiver Application' in the licensing portal.
  • $50 criminal history fee

    Detail
    Paid in the portal; documentation to complete the fingerprint process arrives by email after payment.
  • Recognition of Non-Kansas Credentials application

    Detail
    Filed after the waiver is submitted, not before.

Two serial applications in a fixed order — waiver first, then recognition — each with its own portal step. Kansas publishes no turnaround for either.

Source quotation
New applicants for EMS credentials in the State of Kansas will be required to undergo criminal history records checks prior to gaining certification. This will entail the completion of a waiver and submission of fingerprints taken at an authorized location.

ksbems.org · State EMS office

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Application fee

What does it cost to get licensed in Kansas from out of state?

Per
application
Also payable
  • Criminal history records check

    Amount
    50
  • Paramedic renewal on or before 1 December

    Amount
    50
  • Paramedic late renewal

    Amount
    100

Partly supported

source_quote is a table row, pipe-joined. Kansas publishes renewal fees and the $50 criminal history fee, but not a fee for the Recognition of Non-Kansas Credentials application itself, so amount_usd is null rather than guessed. Late renewal doubles at every level.

Source quotation
Paramedic | $50.00 | $100.00

ksbems.org · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How long it takes

How long will Kansas take to process my application?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Background check

What background check does Kansas require, and how do I do it from out of state?

Required
Yes
State check
Yes
Fingerprints
Yes
Fee
50
From out of state
Fingerprints must be taken at an authorised location; the Board emails the documentation needed once the $50 fee is paid.

The $50 is the criminal history fee specifically, separate from any certification fee. Whether the check has an FBI component, and how long it takes, are not published.

Source quotation
Upon payment of the required $50 fee, you will receive an email with documentation to complete the required process.

ksbems.org · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Temporary licence

Can I start working in Kansas before full approval?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Current NREMT required

Does my National Registry have to be current to apply in Kansas?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Keeping it

The renewal clock and what it costs in hours.

2 of 7 answered from a source · 5 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Recert cycle

How often do I recert in Kansas?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

CE hours required

How many CE hours does Kansas want, and in what?

  • EMR

    Hours
    16
  • EMT

    Hours
    28
  • AEMT

    Hours
    44
  • Paramedic

    Hours
    60

Kansas publishes total hours per renewal cycle without a national/local/individual split, so these are not expressed in NCCP terms. The cycle length was not established on this page, so hours-per-year cannot be derived from it.

Source quotation
Q: How many hours do I need to Renew? A: EMR: 16, EMT: 28, AEMT: 44, PARAMEDIC: 60

ksbems.org · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NCCP accepted

Can I use NCCP hours to recert in Kansas, or does it want its own?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

State EMS office ksbems.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

State-specific requirements

What does Kansas require at renewal that other states do not?

  • Renewal can only be completed online through the Board's licensing portal — no mail or fax
  • Renewal fees double if filed after 1 December

The 1 December date is from the fee table's 'Renewal fee on or before Dec. 1st' column heading on the same page.

Source quotation
A: No, renewal can only be completed online using our licensing portal .

ksbems.org · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Refresher course

Does Kansas make me take a refresher course to recert?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

If your licence lapses

My Kansas cert expired — can I still get it back?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Approved CE providers

Where do I find CE that Kansas will accept?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Military and spouse routes

Where a service record shortens the path.

0 of 4 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military pathway

Does Kansas have a faster route for military training or veterans?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How it works

What does Kansas's military pathway actually get me?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where to read it

Where does Kansas document its military pathway?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military spouses

Does Kansas extend its military pathway to spouses?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Kansas's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Carrying and giving controlled substances

DEA rewrote the narcotics rules for EMS in February 2026. Registration moved from the medical director to the agency itself, and the rule spells out storage, restocking and standing-order administration. These rules are federal and read the same in every state.

10 federal facts, quoted from the Federal Register · 2 of 2 Kansas facts answered from state law

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The rule and its clock

What changed, and when did it take effect?

Citation
91 FR 5216
Published
2026-02-05
Effective
2026-03-09

The DEA final rule implementing the Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act of 2017 (PPAEMA). It amends 21 CFR parts 1300, 1301, 1304 and following to create the EMS agency registration and the storage, delivery and recordkeeping rules below.

Source quotation
This rule is effective March 9, 2026.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The agency holds the registration now

Who holds the DEA registration an ambulance operates under?

Status
Yes
Category
Emergency Medical Services Agency
Scope
one registration per state covers every location the agency operates in that state

Before this rule most services ran narcotics under their medical director's practitioner registration. The registration now belongs to the agency, as its own DEA business-activity category.

Source quotation
the Act directs the Attorney General (and thus the Administrator) to allow a registered EMS agency to obtain a single registration for each State in which the EMS agency administers controlled substances, rather than requiring the agency to obtain a separate registration for each location at which it operates within that State.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Crossing state lines with the drug box

Does one DEA registration cover operating in another state?

Status
No
Detail
a separate DEA registration is required in each state the agency operates in

The fact that matters most to a traveler: compact privilege can carry your licence across a border, but it does not carry your agency's DEA registration. An agency running trucks in two states registers twice.

Source quotation
EMS agencies that wish to operate in multiple States must register with DEA in each State in which they operate.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Pushing narcotics on standing orders

Can a medic administer controlled substances without the medical director present?

Status
Yes
Conditions
authorized by state law, under a valid standing or verbal order that meets the statutory conditions

Federal law now says yes, but only where state law agrees: EMS professionals are only allowed to make such administrations if authorized by State law. Whether your state's law does is the per-state question at the end of this section.

Source quotation
the Act allows emergency medical services professionals to administer controlled substances outside the physical presence of a medical director or authorizing medical professional pursuant to a valid standing or verbal order.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Storage on the truck

How do narcotics have to be stored in the vehicle?

Locked vehicle
Yes
Container
securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed
Source quotation
EMS vehicles storing controlled substances must be locked when parked outside of an enclosed registered or designated location, with the controlled substances stored in a securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Hospital-run services

Does a hospital-based agency need its own registration?

Status
No
Detail
may keep operating under the hospital's registration

Hospital-based means owned or operated by a hospital. If you work for a hospital service, the drug box stays on the hospital's paper.

Source quotation
The CSA, as amended by the Act, expressly allows hospital-based EMS agencies to operate under the hospital's registration rather than obtaining their own separate registration.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Restocking at the hospital

Can the truck restock controlled substances from a hospital?

Status
Yes
Detail
non-hospital-based agencies may receive controlled substances from a hospital to restock after an emergency response
Source quotation
the Act allows non-hospital-based EMS agencies to receive controlled substances from a hospital for the purpose of restocking an EMS vehicle following an emergency response.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

What registration costs

What does the DEA registration cost an agency?

Amount
888
Per
three-year registration period
Source quotation
this rule reflects the current fee of $888 so that, as intended, the fee for EMS registrants is the same as that for other dispensers of controlled substances.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Government services pay nothing

Do municipal and fire-based services pay the fee?

Status
No
Detail
agencies operated by a state or local government are exempt from application fees
Source quotation
Even if the EMS agency is not operated by a government fire department, if the EMS agency itself is operated by the local government, it would also be exempt from application fees.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The switch-over window

When does an existing service have to move to the new registration?

Options
  • immediately on the effective date
  • at the expiration of the current registration
  • three to six months before the renewal date

DEA recommends agencies contact their local field office to complete the transition.

Source quotation
The three options for EMS agencies to transition are: (1) transition immediately on the effective date established by DEA; (2) transition at the expiration of their current registration; or (3) transition three to six months prior to their renewal date.

govinfo.gov ·

State statute ksrevisor.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Standing orders under state law

Does Kansas law let a medic push scheduled drugs on standing orders, the way the DEA rule assumes?

Status
Yes
Citation
K.S.A. 65-6112(l); K.S.A. 65-6126
Detail
Kansas statute defines medical protocols as written guidelines that let EMS providers act before contacting a physician, and requires every service operator to designate a medical director to provide that medical oversight.

Partly supported

The definition is squarely a standing-order authority — acting before physician contact is the whole point of it — but it is written for medical procedures generally and does not name controlled substances or drug administration. K.S.A. 65-6126 supplies the medical-director side: 'each operator shall designate a medical director to provide medical oversight.' No Kansas provision was found that carves controlled substances out of protocol practice.

Source quotation
written guidelines that authorize emergency medical service providers to perform certain medical procedures prior to contacting a physician

ksrevisor.gov · State statute

State agency pharmacy.ks.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

A state registration on top of DEA's

Does Kansas require its own controlled-substance registration for EMS agencies?

Status
Yes
Registration name
Ambulance or EMS facility registration (Board form BA-09)
Issuer
Kansas Board of Pharmacy
Detail
The Kansas Board of Pharmacy runs a facility registration category for in-state ambulance and EMS services, on top of the annual state controlled-substance registration K.S.A. 65-4116 requires of anyone distributing or dispensing controlled substances in Kansas.

Partly supported

The quote is the Board's own facility-application index, which is proof the category exists but not, in words, proof that it is mandatory; the mandate is K.S.A. 65-4116 ('shall obtain annually a registration issued by the board'), whose exemption list does not reach EMS agencies. The BA-09 form itself sits behind pharmacy.ks.gov's edge filter and returns an HTML block page rather than the PDF, so the form's own language could not be quoted. K.S.A. 65-1643, the pharmacy-act permit statute, does not mention ambulances — the EMS category lives on the controlled-substances side.

Source quotation
BA-09 Ambulance or EMS (in state)

pharmacy.ks.gov · State agency

Open questions

Questions not yet settled from a primary source.

  1. What does the Recognition of Non-Kansas Credentials application cost, and how long do the waiver, the fingerprint check and the recognition decision take? The FAQ publishes the $50 criminal history fee and nothing else.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks reciprocity.fee, reciprocity.processing_time

  2. What is the Kansas certification cycle? CE hours are published per renewal but the renewal period length is not stated on the FAQ, so the hours cannot be compared to other states.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks licensure.term, recertification.cycle_years