Kinetic ClinicianPut your license in motion.
Menu
Tips

Read licensing records by source

Open a jurisdiction to review its dated requirements and official sources. Use the compact tables to compare which states participate.

All 51 jurisdictions · Compact status table · Plan the crossing: offshore · 911 ground · IFT

VA

Virginia

spine record
reviewed 9 Aug 2026
oldest fact on this page 9 Aug 2026

Can I work a 13-week contract here on my home-state licence?

Privilege is enoughVA · spine record

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Virginia, and practises under a physician medical director.

Supporting evidence and conditions

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Virginia, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not Virginia speaking about Virginia. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a Virginia licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission · emscompact.gov · verified 4 Oct 2026 · Partly supported

Law enacted
Yes Virginia Code § 32.1-371
In force
Yes since 1 Jul 2016
NEMSCD display
Yes shown in NEMSCD
Facts sourced
21
No published answer
2
Not yet verified
20
Sources disagreeing
0

Requirements include source links and review dates. Expand each source quotation for the supporting text. Unverified and incomplete information is labelled alongside the relevant requirement.

Before you sign

The items most likely to cost you a start date.

Blocks practice

Out-of-state recognition stops at EMT — there is no paramedic route in

Virginia will accept a current EMS certification from any state or territory, but grants certification through Legal Recognition at the EMT level only. A paramedic arriving from another state cannot be certified as a paramedic in Virginia through this pathway.

The most consequential single fact in the Virginia record, and easy to miss because the page reads as welcoming. What a paramedic must do instead — an accredited Virginia programme, a challenge process, or nothing — is not stated on this page. Virginia is a compact member, in force and submitting data, so a paramedic from a Member State can work here on privilege at paramedic level without touching Legal Recognition. The cap bites when you need the Virginia certification itself, or when your home state is not a member.

State EMS office · vdh.virginia.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
The Virginia Office of EMS will accept and consider application from providers with current EMS certifications from ANY state or U.S. territory for certification in Virginia at the EMT level only through Legal Recognition.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

Adds a requirement

The exam is deferred, not waived

No test is required to be granted Legal Recognition, but recertifying requires Virginia continuing education plus passing both Virginia's practical examination and the National Registry cognitive examination before the recognition period ends.

The recognition period can be as short as the time left on your home-state card, so the window to sit two examinations is not necessarily a year. National Registry allows six attempts at the cognitive exam, with 20 hours of remedial education required after three failures.

State EMS office · vdh.virginia.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
No initial test is required for Legal Recognition.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

Who licenses you

The office that issues the card, and the law it issues it under.

3 of 5 answered from a source · 2 written up as absences

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licensing authority

Who actually issues an EMS licence in Virginia?

Virginia Department of Health, Office of Emergency Medical Services

Source quotation
The Virginia Office of EMS will accept and consider application from providers with current EMS certifications from ANY state or U.S. territory for certification in Virginia at the EMT level only through Legal Recognition.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Authority website

Where is Virginia's EMS licensing office online?

vdh.virginia.gov

Partly supported

Virginia gives the out-of-state case its own page with a title written from the reader's point of view, which is rare and useful.

Source quotation
I hold an EMS credential in another state

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Licensing portal

Where do I actually submit an application in Virginia?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

National Registry of EMTs nremt.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Contact

Who do I call or email about Virginia licensure?

(804) 888-9100

Partly supported

From the National Registry's State EMS Offices directory, which carries the Registry's own warning: 'Information provided on this page is for convenience. Always verify information directly with the State EMS Office.'

Source quotation
Phone (804) 888-9100

nremt.org · National Registry of EMTs

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Governing law

Which statute or rule governs EMS licensure in Virginia?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

What the licence is

Levels, term, and what your National Registry does and does not buy you.

4 of 6 answered from a source · 2 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Certification levels

What levels does Virginia issue, and what does my cert become there?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licence term

How long does a Virginia licence last before renewal?

Years
1
Expires on
anniversary

Partly supported

This is the Legal Recognition term specifically, not Virginia's ordinary certification term. 'Whichever is shortest' means a medic six months from their home-state expiry gets six months of Virginia certification, so the clock you arrive with is the clock you keep.

Source quotation
Once granted, certification through Legal Recognition will be valid for a maximum of one calendar year OR the time left on the present certification, whichever is shortest.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

NREMT required to get licensed

Do I need National Registry to get licensed in Virginia?

No

Partly supported

Not required to enter on Legal Recognition — a current state certification from any jurisdiction is the qualifying credential. It becomes required within the year: recertifying means passing the National Registry cognitive exam. So Registry is deferred, not avoided.

Source quotation
No initial test is required for Legal Recognition.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

NREMT required to stay licensed

Do I have to keep National Registry current to keep a Virginia licence?

Yes

Partly supported

Stated for recertification after Legal Recognition. Whether the same holds for a provider who entered Virginia by the ordinary route was not established.

Source quotation
successfully pass the Virginia practical and National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians cognitive examination

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

State exam

Does Virginia make me sit its own exam?

Yes

Deferred rather than waived. No test is required to get Legal Recognition, but you must pass Virginia's own Psychomotor Competency Verification and the National Registry cognitive exam to keep the certification past the recognition year.

Source quotation
In order to recertify, providers must complete the required Virginia EMS continuing education criteria prior to their certification expiration date and successfully pass the Virginia practical and National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians cognitive examination.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Disqualifying convictions

What criminal history bars me from licensure in Virginia?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Compact privilege

The EMS Compact — formally REPLICA, the Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact. Enacted, in force, and verifiable status are separate dated facts, plus what privilege covers.

7 of 10 answered from a source · 3 written up as absences

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Conditions for privilege

What do I have to satisfy for compact privilege to apply in Virginia?

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state at an eligible EMS level.
  • Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction.
  • Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct and follow the remote state's scope of practice, protocols, and laws.

Partly supported

These are the Commission's national conditions, not a Virginia statement. Whether Virginia imposes anything further has not been established from a Virginia source — see compact.privilege.state_specific_restrictions.

Source quotation
Be at least 18 years of age. Section 4.B.1 2 Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state, as an EMT, AEMT, Paramedic, or a state-recognized level between EMT and Paramedic. Section 4.B.2 3 Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction. Section 4.B.3 4 Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct . Rules 4.0(E) and 4.6 Then, as you practice: follow the local scope of practice, protocols, and laws of the state you are working in, under Rule 4.4 of the Commission's administrative rules.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

What privilege covers

Which situations does compact privilege cover in Virginia?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

No Virginia enumeration of covered circumstances located. The Commission frames privilege as applying at all times rather than by enumerated circumstance, but that is a national statement and has not been confirmed against Virginia rule.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where privilege is not enough

When do I need full Virginia licensure instead of privilege?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

Not stated by Virginia or by the Commission for Virginia specifically. The only universal exclusion the Commission states is that privilege never applies in a state where you already hold a licence — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Can I take a contract on privilege alone

Can I work a 13-week contract in Virginia on my home-state licence?

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

Partly supported

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in Virginia, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not Virginia speaking about Virginia. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a Virginia licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

Source quotation
Does it expire? There is no time limit. Your Privilege to Practice remains valid as long as you continue to meet eligibility requirements: an active, unrestricted EMS license in a participating Home State, affiliation with an EMS agency authorized in the remote state, practice under a local EMS Medical Director in compliance with the remote state's laws and rules, and adherence to the Professional Code of Conduct . Does it only apply during emergencies? No. The Compact applies at all times, not only during declared emergencies.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

If you already hold a licence here

I have an old or inactive Virginia card — can I still use compact privilege here?

A licence here forfeits privilege
Yes

The Commission states that even an inactive license makes that state a Home State, and that a Home State is not a Remote State, so Compact privilege does not apply there. This is the Commission speaking nationally; this source does not establish whether the state offers inactive status or its reactivation pathway, so both remain unknown.

Source quotation
In this scenario, although the EMS practitioner holds an inactive license from Kansas, the state is still considered a Home State, since the individual holds a license there, rather than a Remote State. The EMS Compact uniquely allows an individual to have multiple Home States, which are not defined by residency or workplace affiliations. Consequently, the Privilege to Practice is only authorized in Remote States, provided the EMS Practitioner meets the provisions outlined by the EMS Compact. As Kansas is not a Remote State for this practitioner, the Privilege to Practice does not apply here.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Extra state requirements

Does Virginia add anything on top of the compact?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Whether Virginia imposes registration, notification, a fee, or a medical-director attestation on privilege holders has not been established. The state's own administrative code has not been read for compact provisions, and silence on the state EMS office's public pages is not evidence of absence.

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Verify privilege

Where does an employer verify my privilege for Virginia?

emscompact.gov

Partly supported

Quick Verify is embedded on the Commission homepage and keyed to the 12-digit National EMS ID, which is neither your state licence number nor your NREMT number.

Source quotation
Quick Verify allows EMS clinicians, agencies, and the public to validate a clinician

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Compact law enacted

Has Virginia passed the EMS Compact into law?

Status
Yes
Enacted

Nothing recorded

Citation
Virginia Code § 32.1-371

Current EMS Compact Commissioner page identifies Virginia's enacted Compact law and reports 2016-03-01 as the signing date. The obsolete Commission State Laws table source and its caveat were removed because this state-specific page directly supplies the law citation and enactment fact.

Source quotation
In Virginia, the REPLICA legislation was signed into law on March 1, 2016, making Virginia the third state to enact the EMS Compact.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

State legislature vga.virginia.gov Source checked 5 Oct 2026

Compact law in force

Is Virginia's compact law actually in effect yet?

Status
Yes
Effective
2016-07-01
Delayed clause
Yes
Clause
The compact shall come into effect on the date on which the compact statute is enacted into law in the tenth member state.

Partly supported

The Virginia General Assembly states the default effective date for regular-session bills is July 1 unless otherwise specified. The complete official [HB 222 enrolled act](https://legacylis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+HB222ER+pdf=) contains the EMS Compact and a 10-member-state implementation trigger and July 1, 2021 expiration condition, but no separate act-wide emergency or general effective-date clause. March 1, 2016 was Governor approval/enactment, not the default effective date. The current Compact law is in force; NEMSCD integration and contract eligibility are separate.

Source quotation
Bills enacted at a Regular Session (or the Reconvened Session which follows) are effective the 1st day of July following adjournment of the Regular Session, unless another date is specified.

vga.virginia.gov · State legislature

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Connected to NEMSCD

Can my Privilege to Practice actually be verified in Virginia?

Status
Yes

The Commission's state-specific Commissioner page identifies Virginia as fully integrated with NEMSCD. This establishes current database integration, distinct from enactment and statutory effect. The page does not publish the initial connection date, so connected_date remains null.

Source quotation
✅ Virginia is fully integrated with NEMSCD

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

Getting licensed from out of state

The route in when privilege does not cover you.

5 of 9 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Reciprocity available

Will Virginia recognise my out-of-state certification at all?

Yes

It exists, and it is capped at EMT. See the protocol quirk — this is the single most consequential fact on the Virginia record for anyone above EMT level.

Source quotation
The Virginia Office of EMS will accept and consider application from providers with current EMS certifications from ANY state or U.S. territory for certification in Virginia at the EMT level only through Legal Recognition.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

What it is called

What does Virginia call its out-of-state pathway?

Legal Recognition

Virginia does not call it reciprocity. Searching its site for 'reciprocity' finds a contact form; the pathway itself is Legal Recognition, and the terminology gap is enough to make a traveller think there is no pathway at all.

Source quotation
Candidates for Legal Recognition must complete an online application and submit digital copies of EMS credentials to the Division of Accreditation, Certification & Education of the Office of EMS.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Where to apply

Where do I start a reciprocity application for Virginia?

vdh.virginia.gov

Virginia warns that the online application times out, so gather documents before starting.

Source quotation
Candidates for Legal Recognition must complete an online application and submit digital copies of EMS credentials to the Division of Accreditation, Certification & Education of the Office of EMS.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

What you must provide

What does Virginia require from an out-of-state applicant?

  • Current EMS certification from any state or U.S. territory

    Detail
    Any jurisdiction qualifies, but only for certification at EMT level.
  • Digital copies of a current state certification card, CPR card, and driver's licence or U.S. passport

    Detail
    All three must be in hand before starting the online application, which times out.
  • A demonstrated connection to Virginia

    Detail
    Virginia residency, Virginia EMS agency affiliation, or a recognised need for Virginia EMS certification.

Partly supported

The document list is quoted directly. The residency-or-affiliation condition is from 12VAC5-31-1393, which was not read for this record — it is recorded here because it changes who can use the pathway, and it should be re-sourced from the regulation.

Source quotation
You will be required to have the following documentation in a digital format in order to make your application for legal recognition. A current: State certification card Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) card Driver's license or U.S. Passport

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Application fee

What does it cost to get licensed in Virginia from out of state?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How long it takes

How long will Virginia take to process my application?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Background check

What background check does Virginia require, and how do I do it from out of state?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Temporary licence

Can I start working in Virginia before full approval?

Yes

Partly supported

Legal Recognition is time-limited and effectively provisional — it buys you up to a year in which to complete Virginia's own examinations. Virginia does not label it temporary, which is why confidence is medium.

Source quotation
Once granted, certification through Legal Recognition will be valid for a maximum of one calendar year OR the time left on the present certification, whichever is shortest.

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Current NREMT required

Does my National Registry have to be current to apply in Virginia?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Keeping it

The renewal clock and what it costs in hours.

0 of 7 answered from a source · 7 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Recert cycle

How often do I recert in Virginia?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

CE hours required

How many CE hours does Virginia want, and in what?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NCCP accepted

Can I use NCCP hours to recert in Virginia, or does it want its own?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

State-specific requirements

What does Virginia require at renewal that other states do not?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Refresher course

Does Virginia make me take a refresher course to recert?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

If your licence lapses

My Virginia cert expired — can I still get it back?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Approved CE providers

Where do I find CE that Virginia will accept?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Military and spouse routes

Where a service record shortens the path.

0 of 4 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military pathway

Does Virginia have a faster route for military training or veterans?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How it works

What does Virginia's military pathway actually get me?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where to read it

Where does Virginia document its military pathway?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military spouses

Does Virginia extend its military pathway to spouses?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and Virginia's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Carrying and giving controlled substances

DEA rewrote the narcotics rules for EMS in February 2026. Registration moved from the medical director to the agency itself, and the rule spells out storage, restocking and standing-order administration. These rules are federal and read the same in every state.

10 federal facts, quoted from the Federal Register · 2 of 2 Virginia facts answered from state law

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The rule and its clock

What changed, and when did it take effect?

Citation
91 FR 5216
Published
2026-02-05
Effective
2026-03-09

The DEA final rule implementing the Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act of 2017 (PPAEMA). It amends 21 CFR parts 1300, 1301, 1304 and following to create the EMS agency registration and the storage, delivery and recordkeeping rules below.

Source quotation
This rule is effective March 9, 2026.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The agency holds the registration now

Who holds the DEA registration an ambulance operates under?

Status
Yes
Category
Emergency Medical Services Agency
Scope
one registration per state covers every location the agency operates in that state

Before this rule most services ran narcotics under their medical director's practitioner registration. The registration now belongs to the agency, as its own DEA business-activity category.

Source quotation
the Act directs the Attorney General (and thus the Administrator) to allow a registered EMS agency to obtain a single registration for each State in which the EMS agency administers controlled substances, rather than requiring the agency to obtain a separate registration for each location at which it operates within that State.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Crossing state lines with the drug box

Does one DEA registration cover operating in another state?

Status
No
Detail
a separate DEA registration is required in each state the agency operates in

The fact that matters most to a traveler: compact privilege can carry your licence across a border, but it does not carry your agency's DEA registration. An agency running trucks in two states registers twice.

Source quotation
EMS agencies that wish to operate in multiple States must register with DEA in each State in which they operate.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Pushing narcotics on standing orders

Can a medic administer controlled substances without the medical director present?

Status
Yes
Conditions
authorized by state law, under a valid standing or verbal order that meets the statutory conditions

Federal law now says yes, but only where state law agrees: EMS professionals are only allowed to make such administrations if authorized by State law. Whether your state's law does is the per-state question at the end of this section.

Source quotation
the Act allows emergency medical services professionals to administer controlled substances outside the physical presence of a medical director or authorizing medical professional pursuant to a valid standing or verbal order.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Storage on the truck

How do narcotics have to be stored in the vehicle?

Locked vehicle
Yes
Container
securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed
Source quotation
EMS vehicles storing controlled substances must be locked when parked outside of an enclosed registered or designated location, with the controlled substances stored in a securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Hospital-run services

Does a hospital-based agency need its own registration?

Status
No
Detail
may keep operating under the hospital's registration

Hospital-based means owned or operated by a hospital. If you work for a hospital service, the drug box stays on the hospital's paper.

Source quotation
The CSA, as amended by the Act, expressly allows hospital-based EMS agencies to operate under the hospital's registration rather than obtaining their own separate registration.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Restocking at the hospital

Can the truck restock controlled substances from a hospital?

Status
Yes
Detail
non-hospital-based agencies may receive controlled substances from a hospital to restock after an emergency response
Source quotation
the Act allows non-hospital-based EMS agencies to receive controlled substances from a hospital for the purpose of restocking an EMS vehicle following an emergency response.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

What registration costs

What does the DEA registration cost an agency?

Amount
888
Per
three-year registration period
Source quotation
this rule reflects the current fee of $888 so that, as intended, the fee for EMS registrants is the same as that for other dispensers of controlled substances.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Government services pay nothing

Do municipal and fire-based services pay the fee?

Status
No
Detail
agencies operated by a state or local government are exempt from application fees
Source quotation
Even if the EMS agency is not operated by a government fire department, if the EMS agency itself is operated by the local government, it would also be exempt from application fees.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The switch-over window

When does an existing service have to move to the new registration?

Options
  • immediately on the effective date
  • at the expiration of the current registration
  • three to six months before the renewal date

DEA recommends agencies contact their local field office to complete the transition.

Source quotation
The three options for EMS agencies to transition are: (1) transition immediately on the effective date established by DEA; (2) transition at the expiration of their current registration; or (3) transition three to six months prior to their renewal date.

govinfo.gov ·

State EMS office vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Standing orders under state law

Does Virginia law let a medic push scheduled drugs on standing orders, the way the DEA rule assumes?

Status
Yes
Citation
12VAC5-31-1050; Va. Code § 54.1-3408(B)(3)
Detail
Virginia EMS personnel practice under local medical treatment protocols and the medical direction of their agency's operational medical director, and the Drug Control Act separately authorizes certified EMS personnel to administer drugs under an oral or written order or standing protocol.

Partly supported

The quoted scope-of-practice rule establishes the protocol-and-medical-direction mechanism but does not name controlled substances. The controlled-substance-specific authority is Va. Code § 54.1-3408(B)(3), which lists 'emergency medical services personnel ... acting pursuant to an oral or written order or standing protocol' among those who may administer drugs; law.lis.virginia.gov serves the Code through a script-only viewer our checker cannot read, so that statute is cited but not quoted. Confidence stays medium until it can be quoted from a fetchable primary host.

Source quotation
EMS personnel shall only perform those procedures, skills, or techniques for which he is currently licensed or certified, provided that he is acting in accordance with local medical treatment protocols and medical direction provided by the OMD of the licensed EMS agency with which he is affiliated

vdh.virginia.gov · State EMS office

State agency vdh.virginia.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

A state registration on top of DEA's

Does Virginia require its own controlled-substance registration for EMS agencies?

Status
Yes
Registration name
Controlled Substances Registration (CSR)
Issuer
Virginia Board of Pharmacy (Department of Health Professions)
Detail
A Virginia EMS agency or regional EMS council holds a Board of Pharmacy controlled substances registration in addition to its federal DEA registration in order to receive, store, and transfer Schedule II-VI drugs.

Partly supported

The Board of Pharmacy's own inspection form is the fetchable primary source; the underlying rule, 18VAC110-20-690(B), names 'emergency medical services agencies, and regional EMS councils' among the entities the Board registers, but law.lis.virginia.gov serves the Administrative Code through a script-only viewer our checker cannot read. The quote is phrased permissively ('that has been issued'), so it proves the state registration is a separate layer sitting alongside DEA rather than restating a bare 'shall register' command — hence partial. The hyphen break in '18VAC110- 20-690' is the PDF's line wrap, reproduced verbatim.

Source quotation
An EMS agency or regional EMS council that has been issued a controlled substance registration pursuant to 18VAC110- 20-690 (G) and a registration from DEA in accordance with federal law may receive drugs in Schedules II-VI

vdh.virginia.gov · State agency

Open questions

Questions not yet settled from a primary source.

  1. How does an out-of-state paramedic become a Virginia paramedic, given Legal Recognition is capped at EMT? Is there a challenge process, or is an accredited Virginia programme the only route?

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks licensure.levels, reciprocity.requirements

  2. 12VAC5-31-1393 conditions Legal Recognition on Virginia residency, Virginia agency affiliation, or a recognised need. Which of those does a 13-week traveller satisfy, and who decides?

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks reciprocity.requirements

  3. What does Legal Recognition cost and how long does the Office of EMS take to grant it? Neither appears on the out-of-state page.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks reciprocity.fee, reciprocity.processing_time