Kinetic ClinicianPut your license in motion.
Menu
Tips

Read licensing records by source

Open a jurisdiction to review its dated requirements and official sources. Use the compact tables to compare which states participate.

All 51 jurisdictions · Compact status table · Plan the crossing: offshore · 911 ground · IFT

ND

North Dakota

spine record
reviewed 9 Aug 2026
oldest fact on this page 9 Aug 2026

Can I work a 13-week contract here on my home-state licence?

Privilege is enoughND · spine record

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in North Dakota, and practises under a physician medical director.

Supporting evidence and conditions

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in North Dakota, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not North Dakota speaking about North Dakota. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a North Dakota licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission · emscompact.gov · verified 4 Oct 2026 · Partly supported

Law enacted
Yes N.D.C.C. § 23-27.1
In force
Yes since 1 Aug 2019
NEMSCD display
Yes shown in NEMSCD
Facts sourced
15
No published answer
3
Not yet verified
25
Sources disagreeing
0

Requirements include source links and review dates. Expand each source quotation for the supporting text. Unverified and incomplete information is labelled alongside the relevant requirement.

Before you sign

The items most likely to cost you a start date.

Adds a requirement

An advanced licence needs a medical director's signature to exist

North Dakota's Advanced Life Support Provider License/Renewal form, used by AEMTs and paramedics for both initial licensure and renewal, requires a signature from an authorised medical director.

Same shape as the Mississippi medical control agreement: an advanced North Dakota licence cannot be obtained in advance of finding a sponsoring service, because a physician has to sign for it. North Dakota is also one of the four member states not submitting data to NEMSCD, so a privilege holder here cannot be verified in the national database either.

State EMS office · hhs.nd.gov · verified 9 Aug 2026

Source quotation
This form is to be utilized by AEMTs and paramedics for initial/renewal of North Dakota state licensure and requires a signature from an authorized medical director.

hhs.nd.gov · State EMS office

Who licenses you

The office that issues the card, and the law it issues it under.

3 of 5 answered from a source · 2 written up as absences

National Registry of EMTs nremt.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Licensing authority

Who actually issues an EMS licence in North Dakota?

North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Emergency Medical Systems Unit

Partly supported

Name as published in the National Registry's State EMS Offices directory, which is the Registry reporting what North Dakota told it rather than North Dakota naming itself on its own site. Replace with a claim sourced from the state's own page when that page is read.

Source quotation
North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Emergency Medical Systems Unit

nremt.org · National Registry of EMTs

State EMS office hhs.nd.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Authority website

Where is North Dakota's EMS licensing office online?

hhs.nd.gov

North Dakota's own heading names three distinct things — recognition, certification and licensure — which is unusual and suggests compact recognition is administered alongside licensure rather than separately.

Source quotation
EMS Personnel Recognition, Certification, and Licensure

hhs.nd.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Licensing portal

Where do I actually submit an application in North Dakota?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

National Registry of EMTs nremt.org Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Contact

Who do I call or email about North Dakota licensure?

(701) 328-2388

Partly supported

From the National Registry's State EMS Offices directory, which carries the Registry's own warning: 'Information provided on this page is for convenience. Always verify information directly with the State EMS Office.'

Source quotation
Phone (701) 328-2388

nremt.org · National Registry of EMTs

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Governing law

Which statute or rule governs EMS licensure in North Dakota?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

What the licence is

Levels, term, and what your National Registry does and does not buy you.

1 of 6 answered from a source · 5 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Certification levels

What levels does North Dakota issue, and what does my cert become there?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Licence term

How long does a North Dakota licence last before renewal?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NREMT required to get licensed

Do I need National Registry to get licensed in North Dakota?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

The licensure page publishes forms without stating eligibility requirements. That a dedicated CE report exists for personnel who are NOT Nationally Registered shows Registry is not universally required, but whether it is required of a new applicant coming in from another state is not stated.

Source: hhs.nd.gov

State EMS office hhs.nd.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

NREMT required to stay licensed

Do I have to keep National Registry current to keep a North Dakota licence?

No

North Dakota publishes a continuing education report specifically for non-Nationally-Registered EMR, AFAA and EMT personnel, which only makes sense if the state licence can be maintained without Registry. Note the form cannot be filed before January 1 of the expiration year. The form covers EMR, AFAA and EMT only, so it does not establish the same for AEMT or Paramedic.

Source quotation
This form is to be used by EMS personnel who are NOT Nationally Registered for re-licensure with DEMS and must be submitted along with the EMS Registration Form.

hhs.nd.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

State exam

Does North Dakota make me sit its own exam?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Disqualifying convictions

What criminal history bars me from licensure in North Dakota?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Compact privilege

The EMS Compact — formally REPLICA, the Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact. Enacted, in force, and verifiable status are separate dated facts, plus what privilege covers.

7 of 10 answered from a source · 3 written up as absences

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Conditions for privilege

What do I have to satisfy for compact privilege to apply in North Dakota?

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state at an eligible EMS level.
  • Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction.
  • Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct and follow the remote state's scope of practice, protocols, and laws.

Partly supported

These are the Commission's national conditions, not a North Dakota statement. Whether North Dakota imposes anything further has not been established from a North Dakota source — see compact.privilege.state_specific_restrictions.

Source quotation
Be at least 18 years of age. Section 4.B.1 2 Hold a current, unrestricted license in at least one EMS Compact participating state, as an EMT, AEMT, Paramedic, or a state-recognized level between EMT and Paramedic. Section 4.B.2 3 Affiliate with an EMS agency in the remote state that provides EMS medical direction. Section 4.B.3 4 Adhere to the Commission's Professional Code of Conduct . Rules 4.0(E) and 4.6 Then, as you practice: follow the local scope of practice, protocols, and laws of the state you are working in, under Rule 4.4 of the Commission's administrative rules.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

What privilege covers

Which situations does compact privilege cover in North Dakota?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

No North Dakota enumeration of covered circumstances located. The Commission frames privilege as applying at all times rather than by enumerated circumstance, but that is a national statement and has not been confirmed against North Dakota rule.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where privilege is not enough

When do I need full North Dakota licensure instead of privilege?

Not established in the cited source

Evidence details

Not stated by North Dakota or by the Commission for North Dakota specifically. The only universal exclusion the Commission states is that privilege never applies in a state where you already hold a licence — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Can I take a contract on privilege alone

Can I work a 13-week contract in North Dakota on my home-state licence?

Yes — privilege alone covers a contract here

Partly supported

The Commission states privilege carries no time limit and is not restricted to declared emergencies, so a 13-week contract is covered provided the medic holds an unrestricted licence in another Member State, is affiliated with an agency authorised in North Dakota, and practises under a physician medical director. Confidence is medium and quote_supports is partial because this is the Commission speaking nationally, not North Dakota speaking about North Dakota. It is reversed for anyone who already holds a North Dakota licence of any status — see compact.privilege.home_state_licenses.

Source quotation
Does it expire? There is no time limit. Your Privilege to Practice remains valid as long as you continue to meet eligibility requirements: an active, unrestricted EMS license in a participating Home State, affiliation with an EMS agency authorized in the remote state, practice under a local EMS Medical Director in compliance with the remote state's laws and rules, and adherence to the Professional Code of Conduct . Does it only apply during emergencies? No. The Compact applies at all times, not only during declared emergencies.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

If you already hold a licence here

I have an old or inactive North Dakota card — can I still use compact privilege here?

A licence here forfeits privilege
Yes

The Commission states that even an inactive license makes that state a Home State, and that a Home State is not a Remote State, so Compact privilege does not apply there. This is the Commission speaking nationally; this source does not establish whether the state offers inactive status or its reactivation pathway, so both remain unknown.

Source quotation
In this scenario, although the EMS practitioner holds an inactive license from Kansas, the state is still considered a Home State, since the individual holds a license there, rather than a Remote State. The EMS Compact uniquely allows an individual to have multiple Home States, which are not defined by residency or workplace affiliations. Consequently, the Privilege to Practice is only authorized in Remote States, provided the EMS Practitioner meets the provisions outlined by the EMS Compact. As Kansas is not a Remote State for this practitioner, the Privilege to Practice does not apply here.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Extra state requirements

Does North Dakota add anything on top of the compact?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Whether North Dakota imposes registration, notification, a fee, or a medical-director attestation on privilege holders has not been established. The state's own administrative code has not been read for compact provisions, and silence on the state EMS office's public pages is not evidence of absence.

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Verify privilege

Where does an employer verify my privilege for North Dakota?

emscompact.gov

Partly supported

Quick Verify is embedded on the Commission homepage and keyed to the 12-digit National EMS ID, which is neither your state licence number nor your NREMT number.

Source quotation
Quick Verify allows EMS clinicians, agencies, and the public to validate a clinician

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Compact law enacted

Has North Dakota passed the EMS Compact into law?

Status
Yes
Enacted

Nothing recorded

Citation
N.D.C.C. § 23-27.1

Current EMS Compact Commissioner page identifies North Dakota's enacted Compact law and reports 2019-04-01 as the signing date. The obsolete Commission State Laws table source and its caveat were removed because this state-specific page directly supplies the law citation and enactment fact.

Source quotation
Governor Doug Burgum signed HB 1337, the Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact , on April 1, 2019.

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

State legislature ndlegis.gov Source checked 5 Oct 2026

Compact law in force

Is North Dakota's compact law actually in effect yet?

Status
Yes
Effective
2019-08-01

Partly supported

North Dakota Legislative Council effective-date schedule lists HB 1337 as effective August 1, 2019. April 1, 2019 was not the statutory effective date. The schedule does not establish whether the act contains a delayed implementation clause.

Source quotation
1337 - August 1, 2019

ndlegis.gov · State legislature

EMS Compact Commission emscompact.gov Source checked 4 Oct 2026

Connected to NEMSCD

Can my Privilege to Practice actually be verified in North Dakota?

Status
Yes

The Commission's state-specific Commissioner page identifies North Dakota as fully integrated with NEMSCD. This establishes current database integration, distinct from enactment and statutory effect. The page does not publish the initial connection date, so connected_date remains null.

Source quotation
✅ North Dakota is fully integrated with NEMSCD

emscompact.gov · EMS Compact Commission

Getting licensed from out of state

The route in when privilege does not cover you.

1 of 9 answered from a source · 8 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Reciprocity available

Will North Dakota recognise my out-of-state certification at all?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

What it is called

What does North Dakota call its out-of-state pathway?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

State EMS office hhs.nd.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

Where to apply

Where do I start a reciprocity application for North Dakota?

hhs.nd.gov

Partly supported

North Dakota uses one paper EMS Registration form for initial licensure, renewal, student registration and roster changes alike. There is no separate reciprocity application, and no online application — the Big Picture portal is for verification, not for applying.

Source quotation
Utilize this form for initial/renewal of North Dakota state licensure, student registration, agency roster updates and changes to demographics.

hhs.nd.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

What you must provide

What does North Dakota require from an out-of-state applicant?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Application fee

What does it cost to get licensed in North Dakota from out of state?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How long it takes

How long will North Dakota take to process my application?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Background check

What background check does North Dakota require, and how do I do it from out of state?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Temporary licence

Can I start working in North Dakota before full approval?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Current NREMT required

Does my National Registry have to be current to apply in North Dakota?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Keeping it

The renewal clock and what it costs in hours.

1 of 7 answered from a source · 6 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Recert cycle

How often do I recert in North Dakota?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

CE hours required

How many CE hours does North Dakota want, and in what?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

NCCP accepted

Can I use NCCP hours to recert in North Dakota, or does it want its own?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

State EMS office hhs.nd.gov Source checked 9 Aug 2026

State-specific requirements

What does North Dakota require at renewal that other states do not?

  • An AEMT or Paramedic licence application — initial or renewal — requires the signature of an authorised medical director

The same Advanced Life Support form is used by registered nurses seeking to provide ALS for BLS-licensed ambulance services, which is North Dakota's route for nurses onto rural BLS trucks.

Source quotation
This form is to be utilized by AEMTs and paramedics for initial/renewal of North Dakota state licensure and requires a signature from an authorized medical director.

hhs.nd.gov · State EMS office

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Refresher course

Does North Dakota make me take a refresher course to recert?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

If your licence lapses

My North Dakota cert expired — can I still get it back?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Approved CE providers

Where do I find CE that North Dakota will accept?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Military and spouse routes

Where a service record shortens the path.

0 of 4 answered from a source · 4 written up as absences

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military pathway

Does North Dakota have a faster route for military training or veterans?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

How it works

What does North Dakota's military pathway actually get me?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Where to read it

Where does North Dakota document its military pathway?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

No verified valueRecord date 9 Aug 2026
Unverified

Military spouses

Does North Dakota extend its military pathway to spouses?

Not yet verified

Evidence details

Not attempted yet. This record was seeded from the three sources that cover all 51 jurisdictions — the Compact Commission's State Laws and NEMSCD tables and the National Registry's office directory — and North Dakota's own EMS office pages have not been read.

Carrying and giving controlled substances

DEA rewrote the narcotics rules for EMS in February 2026. Registration moved from the medical director to the agency itself, and the rule spells out storage, restocking and standing-order administration. These rules are federal and read the same in every state.

10 federal facts, quoted from the Federal Register · 2 of 2 North Dakota facts answered from state law

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The rule and its clock

What changed, and when did it take effect?

Citation
91 FR 5216
Published
2026-02-05
Effective
2026-03-09

The DEA final rule implementing the Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act of 2017 (PPAEMA). It amends 21 CFR parts 1300, 1301, 1304 and following to create the EMS agency registration and the storage, delivery and recordkeeping rules below.

Source quotation
This rule is effective March 9, 2026.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The agency holds the registration now

Who holds the DEA registration an ambulance operates under?

Status
Yes
Category
Emergency Medical Services Agency
Scope
one registration per state covers every location the agency operates in that state

Before this rule most services ran narcotics under their medical director's practitioner registration. The registration now belongs to the agency, as its own DEA business-activity category.

Source quotation
the Act directs the Attorney General (and thus the Administrator) to allow a registered EMS agency to obtain a single registration for each State in which the EMS agency administers controlled substances, rather than requiring the agency to obtain a separate registration for each location at which it operates within that State.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Crossing state lines with the drug box

Does one DEA registration cover operating in another state?

Status
No
Detail
a separate DEA registration is required in each state the agency operates in

The fact that matters most to a traveler: compact privilege can carry your licence across a border, but it does not carry your agency's DEA registration. An agency running trucks in two states registers twice.

Source quotation
EMS agencies that wish to operate in multiple States must register with DEA in each State in which they operate.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Pushing narcotics on standing orders

Can a medic administer controlled substances without the medical director present?

Status
Yes
Conditions
authorized by state law, under a valid standing or verbal order that meets the statutory conditions

Federal law now says yes, but only where state law agrees: EMS professionals are only allowed to make such administrations if authorized by State law. Whether your state's law does is the per-state question at the end of this section.

Source quotation
the Act allows emergency medical services professionals to administer controlled substances outside the physical presence of a medical director or authorizing medical professional pursuant to a valid standing or verbal order.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Storage on the truck

How do narcotics have to be stored in the vehicle?

Locked vehicle
Yes
Container
securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed
Source quotation
EMS vehicles storing controlled substances must be locked when parked outside of an enclosed registered or designated location, with the controlled substances stored in a securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet or safe that cannot be readily removed.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Hospital-run services

Does a hospital-based agency need its own registration?

Status
No
Detail
may keep operating under the hospital's registration

Hospital-based means owned or operated by a hospital. If you work for a hospital service, the drug box stays on the hospital's paper.

Source quotation
The CSA, as amended by the Act, expressly allows hospital-based EMS agencies to operate under the hospital's registration rather than obtaining their own separate registration.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Restocking at the hospital

Can the truck restock controlled substances from a hospital?

Status
Yes
Detail
non-hospital-based agencies may receive controlled substances from a hospital to restock after an emergency response
Source quotation
the Act allows non-hospital-based EMS agencies to receive controlled substances from a hospital for the purpose of restocking an EMS vehicle following an emergency response.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

What registration costs

What does the DEA registration cost an agency?

Amount
888
Per
three-year registration period
Source quotation
this rule reflects the current fee of $888 so that, as intended, the fee for EMS registrants is the same as that for other dispensers of controlled substances.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Government services pay nothing

Do municipal and fire-based services pay the fee?

Status
No
Detail
agencies operated by a state or local government are exempt from application fees
Source quotation
Even if the EMS agency is not operated by a government fire department, if the EMS agency itself is operated by the local government, it would also be exempt from application fees.

govinfo.gov ·

govinfo.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

The switch-over window

When does an existing service have to move to the new registration?

Options
  • immediately on the effective date
  • at the expiration of the current registration
  • three to six months before the renewal date

DEA recommends agencies contact their local field office to complete the transition.

Source quotation
The three options for EMS agencies to transition are: (1) transition immediately on the effective date established by DEA; (2) transition at the expiration of their current registration; or (3) transition three to six months prior to their renewal date.

govinfo.gov ·

State administrative code ndlegis.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

Standing orders under state law

Does North Dakota law let a medic push scheduled drugs on standing orders, the way the DEA rule assumes?

Status
Yes
Citation
N.D. Admin. Code 33-36-04-05; 61-09-01-01
Detail
North Dakota EMS professionals practise under patient care standards their credentialing physician sets by protocol, and the pharmacy board's ambulance rule assumes controlled substances are carried and given on that footing with the medical director reviewing afterwards.

Partly supported

The scope-of-practice rule describes protocol-based practice without naming controlled substances or saying in terms that the physician need not be present, hence partial support. The same sentence pattern repeats for every level in 33-36-04, and the rule adds that a local medical director may narrow, but never widen, the department's scope. The controlled-substance half of the picture comes from the Board of Pharmacy: N.D. Admin. Code 61-09-01-01 has ambulance services carrying schedule II, III and IV controlled substances under an accountability system the medical director approves, with all medications administered 'promptly documented on a patient care report, reviewed by the ambulance service's medical director on a monthly basis' — a monthly retrospective review is only coherent if the drugs were given without contemporaneous physician contact.

Source quotation
A paramedic working in a prehospital setting provides medical care with physician oversight. In this circumstance a physician credentials the paramedic and establishes patient care standards through protocol.

ndlegis.gov · State administrative code

State agency ndlegis.gov Source checked 13 Aug 2026

A state registration on top of DEA's

Does North Dakota require its own controlled-substance registration for EMS agencies?

Status
No
Detail
North Dakota does not register ambulance services for controlled substances; its pharmacy rule instead keeps the drugs the legal property of the supplying pharmacy or the medical director, so the registrant is one of them rather than the service.

North Dakota answers this question by rearranging ownership rather than by exempting anyone. Article 61-09 of the Board of Pharmacy's rules is titled 'Prescription Drug Inventory of Ambulance Services' and is the state's whole scheme for the subject: the service adopts a written safeguard policy, obtains drugs from a North Dakota licensed pharmacy, wholesaler or authorized prescriber at the medical director's request, and the pharmacist-in-charge or medical director stays responsible for security and accountability. No registration of the service appears anywhere in it, and the supplying pharmacist must audit the policy before releasing any drug. That fits the registration statute: N.D.C.C. 19-03.1-16(1) attaches annual Board of Pharmacy registration to manufacturing, distributing or dispensing, none of which an ambulance service does under this arrangement. This is worth flagging against the DEA's new EMS-agency registrant category, which contemplates the agency itself holding the controlled substances — North Dakota's rule says in terms that they are not the agency's property.

Source quotation
The prescription drugs must be the property of the pharmacy or medical director and not the property of the ambulance service.

ndlegis.gov · State agency

Open questions

Questions not yet settled from a primary source.

  1. North Dakota publishes licensure forms without publishing eligibility requirements, fees, term length or CE hours. What does an out-of-state AEMT or paramedic actually have to satisfy, and what does it cost?

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks reciprocity.requirements, reciprocity.fee, licensure.term, recertification.ce_hours

  2. What is North Dakota's AFAA level, where does it sit relative to EMR and EMT, and does an out-of-state credential map to it? It appears only in the name of a continuing education form.

    opened 9 Aug 2026 · blocks licensure.levels