Kinetic ClinicianPut your license in motion.
Menu
Tips

Plan a career route

Start with the route overview, then open training topics to check requirements, costs and sources. Mark credentials you hold to see how they affect the plan.

From the street to critical care.

Plan a move into flight or ground critical-care transport. Compare entry requirements, certification costs and employer examples.

U.S. paramedic pathway · reviewed

Build the experience employers require

Compare your current experience with the roles below before choosing a certification or course.

  1. Keep an unrestricted paramedic license and state authority current

    Keep your paramedic license current and check the states your target employer serves.

    What this involves
    • The FP-C and CCP-C exams require a current unrestricted paramedic license in the state or country of practice. A flight employer may require licensure in every state served and may additionally require National Registry status. The exam credential does not replace state EMS authorization.
    • Maintain the current paramedic license or certification required where you practice.
    • Check each target employer's state list and NREMT requirements before applying; requirements vary by base and jurisdiction.
    • Use the issuing state EMS authority or National Registry for renewal timing and fees; no single nationwide price or interval is asserted here.
    Sources
  2. Build high-acuity field experience before applying

    Build the field experience your target role requires. Air Methods specifies at least three years in a busy 911 system.

    What this involves
    • Employer requirements exceed IBSC exam eligibility. Air Methods asks for at least three years in a busy 911 system. The last-seen Bend GMR posting states at least three years in 911 or critical care; it does not specify that the experience must be recent or within a five-year window. These are employer-specific examples, not universal thresholds.
    • Work as a licensed paramedic in a busy 911 ALS or critical-care setting and document the acuity, responsibilities and duration of your experience.
    • Use the exact posting minimum as the floor for that employer; some roles require recent critical-care transport experience, local licensure or additional endorsements.
    • Foundational critical-care education such as CCEMTP can support preparation; course completion is separate from IBSC certification and employer hiring requirements. Compare the dated provider options under Credentials & costs.
    Sources
  3. Maintain core resuscitation and trauma certifications

    Match your resuscitation and trauma certificates to the employer’s accepted courses.

    What this involves
    • Reviewed employer requirements include provider-level resuscitation and trauma credentials before flight status. Specific combinations vary: the reviewed GMR posts list BLS, ACLS, PALS, NRP and trauma certification; Air Methods lists BLS/CPR, ACLS, PALS or equivalent and advanced-provider ITLS where required by state or county.
    • Verify accepted provider, course version and expiration requirements in each posting and at the base where you will practice.
    • The listed certificates are employer requirements; they are separate from FP-C and from state paramedic licensure.
    • Local course costs and renewal rules depend on provider and jurisdiction; no aggregate is estimated.
    Sources
  4. Choose the specialty exam that matches the clinical route

    Choose FP-C for flight-focused certification or CCP-C for ground critical-care certification, according to the role’s requirements.

    What this involves
    • For a flight-paramedic route, FP-C covers flight physiology and safety. For ground or broader critical-care transport, CCP-C is a distinct exam focused on experienced critical-care transport practice. The credentials are not interchangeable, neither is an entry-level course, and neither guarantees a job; follow the specific employer's credential requirement.
    • Build practical critical-care experience before treating either specialty exam as a useful target.
    • Review the current credential-specific content outline and employer postings before paying for an exam.
    • Do not confuse CCEMTP course completion with IBSC FP-C or CCP-C certification.
    Sources
  5. Prepare for the FP-C exam when your experience supports it

    Use the IBSC exam outline to plan your study and optional preparation courses.

    What this involves
    • IBSC exam eligibility is a current unrestricted paramedic license plus application documentation. IBSC recommends foundational specialty education, relevant experience, 6–12 months of self-study and an approved review course; it describes the exam as testing experienced critical-care transport knowledge. Those recommendations do not establish an employer's hiring eligibility.
    • Review the current FP-C candidate handbook and exam blueprint before registering.
    • Refresh ACLS, PALS, neonatal resuscitation, trauma and flight-physiology knowledge; the FP-C exam includes flight physiology and safety.
    • Budget the current IBSC exam fee and any optional preparation course separately; IBSC provides the exam, not an endorsed preparatory course.
    Sources
  6. Apply to a specific base and complete its hiring and flight training

    Expect an employer assessment, clinical orientation and role-specific training.

    What this involves
    • The last-seen GMR postings stated FP-C within 24 months after hire; their official job URLs returned HTTP 404 on 2026-10-06, so they are retained only as historical examples. Air Methods describes its own entry exam, scenario assessment and continuing competency training. Passing FP-C alone does not qualify someone for a role or authorize practice at a base.
    • Match your state license, experience, current certificates and relocation radius to the exact base posting.
    • Ask the employer about its clinical orientation, check rides, flight physiology, aircraft safety, medical-director credentialing and deadlines before accepting.
    • Confirm current opening status, schedule, pay and requirements directly with the employer; the linked GMR postings returned 404 when checked.
    Sources
  7. Read CAMTS accreditation as a program quality measure

    Check the transport service’s accreditation when comparing employers.

    What this involves
    • CAMTS accredits medical transport services against program standards; it does not issue FP-C or another individual paramedic certification. CAMTS says full service accreditation lasts three years. IBSC specialty certification is an individual knowledge credential. Check the current CAMTS directory for the actual service and base rather than treating accreditation as a personal qualification or a universal legal requirement.
    • Check service name, mode and accreditation status in the CAMTS directory when comparing programs.
    • Check which edition is in effect: CAMTS lists 12th edition transport standards as current and schedules its 13th edition to take effect January 1, 2027.
    • Do not substitute service accreditation for an individual license, specialty certification, employer qualification or medical-director authorization.
    Sources

Choose credentials for your target role

Exam fees, preparation courses and renewal costs are separate. Each option below identifies what its published price includes.

Current unrestricted paramedic license or certification

licensure and exam eligibility

IBSC requires a current unrestricted paramedic license to sit for FP-C. Employers may also require state licensure for all served states and, in some jurisdictions, National Registry status. This is base authorization to practice, not a flight specialty certificate.

Costs and renewal

Renewal: Renew through the applicable state EMS authority and National Registry, if required. Requirements, renewal interval and fees depend on jurisdiction; verify the exact state where you practice.

Current fees have not been verified.

Sources

IBSC Certified Flight Paramedic (FP-C)

individual specialty certification; employer requirement varies

Voluntary IBSC individual specialty exam assessing flight-paramedic knowledge, including flight physiology and safety. A current unrestricted paramedic license is the published exam eligibility requirement. IBSC recommends foundational specialty education, relevant experience and preparation; flight employers impose separate experience, licensure, clinical-certificate and onboarding requirements. Passing FP-C alone does not establish job eligibility.

Costs and renewal

Renewal: Renew every four years by retaking the exam or submitting 100 approved CE hours during the certification period, including at least 75 clinical hours and 16 hours from an IBSC-approved FP-C review course; up to 25 operational hours may count. Maintain an unrestricted paramedic license. Late CE submissions under 30 days before expiry incur a $125 fee; expired credentials require retesting, with no grace period.

  • $385Current non-member computer-based or onsite examination fee. Affiliate-member fee is $285. IBSC states exam fees are nonrefundable.International Board of Specialty Certification (IBSC)
    Sources
  • $385Current non-member fee to recertify FP-C by approved continuing education. Affiliate-member fee is $285; retesting uses the standard examination fee. A $125 late processing fee may apply.International Board of Specialty Certification (IBSC)
    Sources
Sources

IBSC Certified Critical Care Paramedic (CCP-C)

individual critical-care specialty certification; employer requirement varies

Voluntary IBSC specialty exam focused on experienced critical-care paramedic practice across prehospital, inter-hospital and hospital environments. IBSC describes CCP-C as a separate credential from FP-C; FP-C addresses flight physiology and safety, while CCP-C focuses on critical-care transport medicine. Neither credential alone establishes employer hiring eligibility or state authority to practice.

Costs and renewal

Renewal: Renew every four years by retaking the examination or submitting 100 approved CE credits from that four-year cycle, including at least 75 clinical credits and 16 clinical hours from an approved FP-C and/or CCP-C review class; up to 25 credits may be operational. Keep a current unrestricted paramedic license. Less-than-30-day submissions incur a $125 late fee; after expiration there is no grace period and retesting is required.

  • $385Current CCP-C exam fee for non-members; affiliate-member fee is $285. Exam fees are nonrefundable.International Board of Specialty Certification (IBSC)
    Sources
  • $385Current CCP-C CE recertification fee for non-members; affiliate-member fee is $285. Retesting uses the standard exam fee; late processing fee is $125 when submitted less than 30 days before expiry.International Board of Specialty Certification (IBSC)
    Sources
Sources

Find a preparation course

Compare tuition and delivery options. Course fees are separate from certification exams; enrollment and seat availability are confirmed by the provider.

FlightCrit LLC

EPICC FP-C/CCP-C Review Course

Exam preparation

Published tuition
$99
Delivery
Online, on-demand, self-pacedRemote; no classroom
Course details and price inclusions

Duration: 32 hours of review content; one year course access.

Prerequisites: No formal enrollment prerequisite listed; course assumes existing paramedic/critical-care knowledge.

Published sale price $99; regular price $249, checked October 6, 2026. Includes 32 hours of review, one year of access and course audio. Certification exam fee is separate. Sale end date is not stated.

On-demand course. IBSC lists EPICC as an approved FP-C/CCP-C review course; approval is not a commercial endorsement. Enrollment availability is confirmed by the provider.

Sources
Sources
View course at FlightCrit LLC

911 e-Learning Solutions, LLC

Flight & Critical Care Review (standard version)

Exam preparation

Published tuition
$275
Delivery
Online, on-demandRemote; no classroom
Course details and price inclusions

Duration: 48 hours of on-demand online content; learner-paced; no fixed completion window stated on the product page.

Prerequisites: Internet access and active email; no formal credential prerequisite listed. Content is designed for advanced EMS providers.

Published sale price $275; regular price $325, checked October 6, 2026. Includes 48 hours of online review. This is the standard state-approved version, not the separate $325 CAPCE-accredited product. Certification exam fee is separate.

On-demand course. IBSC lists this provider’s FP-C/CCP-C review course. Confirm acceptance for your specific license or credential; enrollment availability is confirmed by the provider.

Sources
Sources
View course at 911 e-Learning Solutions, LLC

Center for Emergency Medicine of Western Pennsylvania

Critical Care Emergency Medical Transport Program (CCEMTP)

Foundational critical-care course

Published tuition
$1,100
Delivery
In person; daily classesOakland, Pittsburgh, PA; most classes at or near the education office, 230 McKee Place. Exact classroom confirmed with registration.
Course details and price inclusions

Duration: Two weeks, meeting daily 8 AM to 6 PM, with one weekend day off between weeks.

Prerequisites: Recommended: paramedic with one year of service; current CPR, ACLS, ITLS or PHTLS, and PALS or PEPP.

Published tuition $1,100, checked October 6, 2026; price may change. Printed student manual included. Optional textbook, travel and lodging are not stated as included. This course is separate from IBSC certification exams.

Published dates: November 9–24, 2026. Registration closes one month before the start; remaining seats are unverified.

Sources
Sources
View course at Center for Emergency Medicine of Western Pennsylvania

See how employers define the role

These role examples describe entry requirements and working conditions. They are separate from the pay-filtered jobs board; vacancy availability can change.

Employer role example

Adventure Medics

Employer posting available when checked October 6, 2026. Full-time local role; no travel contract stated. Hiring status can change.

Critical Care Paramedic — full-time ground transport

Bend, Oregon, United States

Published pay
$102,000–$121,000 / yearPublished starting range, depending on experience. The posting also accepts nurses with EMS certification and does not separate their pay range. Housing/relocation assistance amounts are not published.
Schedule
Employer states 2 days on / 5 days off. Shift length/hours are not specified in the posting.
Entry requirements
  • Current state paramedic license; confirm the required state authorization for this Bend role.
  • Minimum 3-5 years of EMS experience.
  • Previous experience in air medical or critical-care transport.
  • ACLS and PALS; trauma certification such as PHTLS or ITLS.
  • Advanced certifications such as FP-C, CCP-C, CCEMT or CFRN are listed as qualifications, without specifying which are mandatory versus preferred.
  • The employer page also lists clean driving record and ability to work irregular hours and varied weather conditions.
Sources
Employer role details
Historical role example

Guardian Flight (Global Medical Response)

Original posting unavailable when checked on 2026-10-06. Current vacancy and compensation are unverified.

Flight Paramedic

Quartzsite, Arizona, United States

Published pay
$79,000–$81,000 / yearHistorical advertised base range; bonuses and relocation payments excluded. Current compensation is unverified.
Schedule
Historical posting: 3 days on / 6 days off; crew housing while on shift.
Entry requirements
  • At least 3 years of experience in a 911 or critical-care setting.
  • Current EMT-P license/certification in the states served by the assigned area; NREMT-P may also be required.
  • BLS, ACLS, PALS, NRP and trauma certification before flight status.
  • FP-C required within 24 months after hire.
Sources
Original posting (unavailable at last check)
Historical role example

Med-Trans (Global Medical Response)

Original posting unavailable when checked on 2026-10-06. Current vacancy and compensation are unverified.

Flight Paramedic

Bend, Oregon, United States

Published pay
$85,600–$143,000 / yearHistorical advertised base range; bonuses and relocation payments excluded. Current compensation is unverified.
Schedule
Historical posting: two 24-hour shifts per week; crew housing while on shift.
Entry requirements
  • The indexed posting stated at least 3 years' experience in a 911 or critical-care setting; it did not state a recency window.
  • Historical posting listed current EMT-P authorization in states served, BLS/ACLS/PALS/NRP and trauma certification before flight status, and FP-C within 24 months after hire.
  • Historical posting said ideal candidate lives within 50 miles of Bend or is willing to relocate.
Sources
Original posting (unavailable at last check)
Coverage and remaining research
  • The two flight-role examples are historical snapshots. The Adventure Medics ground-transport posting was available on the review date; current hiring status is unconfirmed.
  • Three training options have published tuition. Online sale end dates, remaining classroom seats, total travel costs, and BLS/ACLS/PALS/NRP and trauma-course prices remain unverified.
  • The route does not determine state-by-state EMS reciprocity, medical-director credentialing, CAMTS accreditation status for a specific base, or individual employer hiring decisions.
  • Pay and schedules are employer-specific examples, not market averages. The Adventure Medics posting states full-time employment; a travel contract is not stated.
  • Adventure Medics publishes a ground critical-care role with pay and schedule. Shift duration, exact advanced-credential requirements and relocation-assistance amounts remain unverified.
  • Employer examples cover Oregon and Arizona. No international flight-paramedic route is covered.